Skip to Main Content

EndNote

This guide provides an overview of EndNote, a bibliographic management software.

Step 5: Setting up Full-Text Searches 

You must set up your Find Full-Text preferences to search our databases. This will allow EndNote to automatically search for and find the full text or articles, and attach them to your citations. Follow the instructions and view the tutorial below to learn how to set up full-text searches. 
 

To set up full-text searches:  

1. On the EndNote toolbar go to:
Edit > Preferences > Find Full Text (Windows)  or  EndNote 21 Menu Tab > Preferences > Find Full Text (Mac)
2. The EndNote Preferences dialog box will open. Next, Select Find Full Text
3. Put a checkmark next to the following boxes: Web of Science Full Text Links, DOI, PubMed LinkOut, and OpenURL
4. In the OpenURL Path box enter: http://imageserver.ebscohost.com/branding/s9004660/FullTextFinder.html?
5. In the Authenticate With URL box enter: https://go.openathens.net/redirector/duq.edu?url=
6. Remove the checkmark next to Automatically invoke Find Full Text on newly-imported references
7. Click on Apply, then OK 

 

full text

 

NOTE: When you initiate a full-text search, EndNote will present you with this error:

This does not mean that your full-text searching function is broken - click Continue and the full-text search will initiate. Due to authentication incompatibility between Duquesne databases (such as EBSCO and JSTOR) and EndNote, the software reports the "error". EndNote will not find full-text for EBSCO databases, JSTOR, Elsvier (ScienceDirect), and Lippincott Williams & Wilkins (LWW in Ovid). Please utilize other methods, such as LibKey Nomad, to find full text for those references.