Skip to main content
Duquesne Home Library Home Ask a Librarian Research Databases QuickSearch E-Z Borrow Course Reserves ILLiad Library Hours Citation Management Renew Materials

EndNote x8: Exporting from Databases

A guide to using EndNote, your new favorite citation manager!

Adding References in EndNote

For most databases:

1. Click on an article and find "cite," "export," "export citation," or "download citation" and select the RIS format/EndNote format.

2. Once exported, click on the download and it should automatically open in EndNote.

3. Many databases also allow you to download the citations for an entire search at once in a bulk RIS file. From your main search page, look for words like "export all" to do this. 

We've provided step-by-step instructions for the heavily used databases. Don't see the database you're using on this list? Ask a librarian for help! 

Once you complete your search, follow these steps to create a text file and then import it into EndNote:

1. Click "Export All" or mark the records you want to download and click "Export Selected":

Cochrane - Export All

2. At the "Choose Your Export Options" window:

  • Choose PC or Mac
  • Choose file type: Citation and Abstract
  • Click the "Export Citation" button
  • If prompted, save your file

Cochrane - Choose Your Export Options

3. Open EndNote desktop. Click the Import button or go to File > Import > File.

4. Choose your file. (Hint: It is most likely in your downloads folder as citation-export.txt!)

5. Choose your import option by clicking on the pull down box and selecting "other filters," then finding the Cochrane Library (Wiley) filter. (Hint: Search Cochrane in the Quick Search box.) If you think you may already have some of these citations in your library, select "Discard duplicates" in the Duplicates pull down bar. Then, click "Import."

Cochrane - Import Option

Cochrane Import Filter

6. Your references will temporarily be in your Imported References folder. If you have smart groups set up, they will automatically be distributed into those groups, if applicable. If not, you can distribute them into their appropriate group(s). (Hint: Do this now while they're in the temporary folder - if you wait, you'll have to weed them out of your entire library later!) 

7. Repeat this process for each type of result you want to import, e.g. Cochrane reviews, other reviews, trials, etc.

We subscribe to many EBSCOhost databases, like Academic Search Elite, ERIC, CINAHL, and PsycINFO. Follow these instructions to download citations:

Individual Citation:

1. After conducting your search, select an article of your choosing.

2. Click "Export" on the right side of the screen.

3. Select "Direct Export in RIS Format" and click "Save".

4. Click on the download after it is complete and it will import your citation into EndNote. 

5. Your reference will temporarily be in your Imported References folder. If you have smart groups set up, it will automatically be distributed into any groups, if applicable. If not, you can distribute it into the appropriate group(s). (Hint: Do this now while it's in the temporary folder - if you wait, you'll have to find it in your library later!)

Bulk Citations:

EBSCOhost doesn't have a very friendly option of downloading an entire search, but it is possible. 

1. After conducting your search, first click on "Page Options" on the right side of the screen. Increase the results per page to 50, the maximum amount.

2. Click on "Share" on the right side. Add to folder "Results (1-50)". You will have to do this for each page of your results. 

EBSCO Results Folder

3. After adding all of the citations to the folder, find the folder at the top of the screen in the blue bar. 

EBSCO - Folder

4. You will see all of your saved citations here. Click "Export" on the right side of the screen.

5. Select the "Direct Export in RIS Format" button on the right. Click "Save" on the left.

6. Click on the download after it is complete and it will import all of your citations into EndNote. 

7. Your references will temporarily be in your Imported References folder. If you have smart groups set up, they will automatically be distributed into those groups, if applicable. If not, you can distribute them into their appropriate group(s). (Hint: Do this now while they're in the temporary folder - if you wait, you'll have to find them all in your library later!)


Find Full Text Note:

Find Full Text will not pull any articles from EBSCOhost.

Solution:

  1. Import EBSCOhost references into EndNote.
  2. Try the Find Full Text feature in case there is full text in other subscribed or free resources.
  3. Review the records. Often, EndNote will include a link to the EBSCOhost record. (However, it only works in DU’s IP range because it does not include the authentication string.)
  4. If you can open the link, you can see the record in EBSCOhost and the full text. If you're off-campus and cannot open the link, search the title in QuickSearch (the search box on the library's homepage). Click on the article title to see the record in EBSCOhost.
  5. If full text is available, download the PDF manually by clicking "PDF Full Text" on the left and clicking the download button in the upper right hand corner of the PDF. 
  6. Double-click on the citation in EndNote to open the record. Click on the paperclip to attach the PDF from your downloads folder.

Individual Download Only:

1. Before conducting your first search, click on the menu bar and navigate to "Settings."

Google Scholar Settings

2. Find "Bibliography Manager" and select the "Show links to export into" button. Choose "EndNote" in the drop-down box. Click "Save." If you're signed into your Google account, these settings will save forever. If not, you may have to do this again the next time you begin a Google session.

Google Scholar Bibliography Manager

3. After conducting your search, you'll now see the "Import into EndNote" link under each article. 

Google Scholar Import Into EndNote

4. Your download will automatically begin. Once complete, click on the download and it will import your citation into EndNote. 

5. Your reference will temporarily be in your Imported References folder. If you have smart groups set up, it will automatically be distributed into any groups, if applicable. If not, you can distribute it into the appropriate group(s). (Hint: Do this now while it's in the temporary folder - if you wait, you'll have to find it in your library later!)

 

Method One: (This can be used for an individual or bulk citation download.)

1. After conducting your search, select the boxes for the article(s) of your choosing.

2. Then, click on the "Export Selected Citations" button. Choose "Export an RIS file".

JSTOR - Export

3. Your download will automatically begin. Once complete, click on the download and it will import your citation into EndNote. 

4. Your reference(s) will temporarily be in your Imported References folder. If you have smart groups set up, your reference(s) will automatically be distributed into any groups, if applicable. If not, you can distribute your reference(s) into the appropriate group(s). (Hint: Do this now in the temporary folder - if you wait, you'll have to find them in your library later!)

Method Two: (Individual citation download only)

1. After conducting your search, select an article by clicking on the title. 

2. Click on the "Cite this item" button on the right.

3. A pop-up box will appear. Click on the "Export a RIS file" link.

4. Your download will automatically begin. Once complete, click on the download and it will import your citation into EndNote. 

5. Your reference will temporarily be in your Imported References folder. If you have smart groups set up, it will automatically be distributed into any groups, if applicable. If not, you can distribute it into the appropriate group(s). (Hint: Do this now while it's in the temporary folder - if you wait, you'll have to find it in your library later!)


Find Full Text Note:

Find Full Text will not pull any articles from JSTOR.

Solution:

  1. Import JSTOR references into EndNote.
  2. Try the Find Full Text feature in case there is full text in other subscribed or free resources.
  3. Review the records. Often, EndNote will include a link to the JSTOR record. (However, it only works in DU’s IP range because it does not include the authentication string.)
  4. If you can open the link, you can see the record in JSTOR and the full text. If you're off-campus and cannot open the link, search the title in QuickSearch (the search box on the library's homepage). Click on the article title to see the record in JSTOR.
  5. If full text is available, download the PDF manually by clicking "PDF Full Text" on the left and clicking the download button in the upper right hand corner of the PDF. 
  6. Double-click on the citation in EndNote to open the record. Click on the paperclip to attach the PDF from your downloads folder.

Individual Download:

1. After conducting your search, select an article by clicking on the title.

2. Click "Save citation" on the right.

Project Muse - Save Citation

3. Once you've saved all of the citations you need, follow the steps below the next section.

Bulk Download:

1. After conducting your search, increase the items per page to 100, the maximum.

Project Muse - Items Per Page

2. Click the "Save All Citations" button. 

3. Repeat these steps for all subsequent pages of your search.

Export All Saved Citations:

1. Click on the "Saved Citations" button in the upper right hand corner.

Project Muse - Saved Citations

2. Under "Option 2: EndNote," click the "Export to EndNote" button.

3. Once the download has completed, click on the file to open it in EndNote.

4. Your references will temporarily be in your Imported References folder. If you have smart groups set up, they will automatically be distributed into those groups, if applicable. If not, you can distribute them into their appropriate group(s). (Hint: Do this now while they're in the temporary folder - if you wait, you'll have to find them all in your library later!) 

Individual Download:

1. After conducting your search, click on the article of your choosing. 

2. Click on the "Save" button on the right.

ProQuest Save

3. Select the RIS format. It will automatically download. When it has completed, click on the file to open it in EndNote.

4. Your reference will temporarily be in your Imported References folder. If you have smart groups set up, it will automatically be distributed into any groups, if applicable. If not, you can distribute it into the appropriate group(s). (Hint: Do this now while it's in the temporary folder - if you wait, you'll have to find it in your library later!)

Bulk Download:

1. After conducting your search, scroll down to the bottom of the page to increase the items per page to 100, the maximum.

2. Click the "Select 1-100" box at the top of the page to select all of the articles on that page. ProQuest saves this selection, so you can continue onto any subsequent pages and select the articles on those, as well. When you've selected the final page, click the "Save" button on the top right.

ProQuest Export

3. Select the RIS format. It will automatically download. When it has completed, click on the file to open it in EndNote.

4. Your references will temporarily be in your Imported References folder. If you have smart groups set up, they will automatically be distributed into any groups, if applicable. If not, you can distribute them into the appropriate group(s). (Hint: Do this now while they're in the temporary folder - if you wait, you'll have to find them all in your library later!)

Individual Download:

1. After conducting your search, click on the article of your choosing.

2. Find the "Send to" drop-down box at the top of the page. Select "Citation Manager" and create the file.

PubMed Individual Download

3. When the download has completed, click on the file to open it in EndNote.

4. Your reference will temporarily be in your Imported References folder. If you have smart groups set up, it will automatically be distributed into any groups, if applicable. If not, you can distribute it into the appropriate group(s). (Hint: Do this now while it's in the temporary folder - if you wait, you'll have to find it in your library later!)

Bulk Download:

1. After conducting your search, find the "Send to" drop-down box at the top of the page.

2. Select "Citation Manager" and increase the number to 200, the maximum (or less, if you search is smaller than that.) 

PubMed Bulk Download

3. Create the file. Once downloaded, click on the file to open the citations in EndNote.

4. Your references will temporarily be in your Imported References folder. If you have smart groups set up, they will automatically be distributed into any groups, if applicable. If not, you can distribute them into the appropriate group(s). (Hint: Do this now while they're in the temporary folder - if you wait, you'll have to find them all in your library later!)

5. If you had more than 200 citations to download, go back and repeat the above steps, but change the "Start from citation" to 201. Continue to do this until you've reach the end of your search results.


Journal Abbreviations:

PubMed uses journal abbreviations that EndNote does not automatically register. To fix this, watch this video. (It takes about 5 minutes, but it's worth it!)

Encore buttons

Currently, we are not able to use the cite button (the quotes on the bottom right) when searching in our QuickSearch online catalog. You can either cite the book manually (consult your style guide to see what items to fill in!) or follow these steps to get the citation from the Library of Congress:

Click on the book and scroll down to copy its ISBN number:

Next, open EndNote and click on the Online Search tab. Click on the Library of Congress search:

EndNote

Select "ISBN" and paste the ISBN from before into the box. It should find the record.

The book should appear and will be added to your library!

Individual Download Only:

Method One:

1. After conducting your search, choose an article and click the "Export Citation" button under the article information.

Science Direct Export Citation

2. Select the option "Export Citation to RIS." 

3. When the download has completed, click on the file to open it in EndNote.

4. Your reference will temporarily be in your Imported References folder. If you have smart groups set up, it will automatically be distributed into any groups, if applicable. If not, you can distribute it into the appropriate group(s). (Hint: Do this now while it's in the temporary folder - if you wait, you'll have to find it in your library later!)

Method Two: 

1. After conducting your search, click on an article of your choosing.

2. Click the "Export" drop-down box above the article.

Science Direct Individual Export

3. Select "RIS" as the export file and "Citation and Abstract" as the content. Click "Export."

4. When the download has completed, click on the file to open it in EndNote.

5. Your reference will temporarily be in your Imported References folder. If you have smart groups set up, it will automatically be distributed into any groups, if applicable. If not, you can distribute it into the appropriate group(s). (Hint: Do this now while it's in the temporary folder - if you wait, you'll have to find it in your library later!)

Individual Download: 

1. After conducting your search, click on an article of your choosing. 

2. Click the "Export" button above the article.

Scopus Individual Download

3. Select the RIS format and any other information you'd like included in your citation download. (We've highlighted our recommendations below.)

Scopus Format

4. Click export. When the download has completed, click on the file to open it in EndNote.

5. Your reference will temporarily be in your Imported References folder. If you have smart groups set up, it will automatically be distributed into any groups, if applicable. If not, you can distribute it into the appropriate group(s). (Hint: Do this now while it's in the temporary folder - if you wait, you'll have to find it in your library later!)

Bulk Download:

1. After conducting your search, click the "All" box button to select all of the articles. Then, click "Export."

Scopus Bulk Download

2. Select the RIS format and any other information you'd like included in your citation download. (We've highlighted our recommendations above in the individual download section.)

3. When the download has completed, click on the file to open it in EndNote.

4. Your references will temporarily be in your Imported References folder. If you have smart groups set up, they will automatically be distributed into any groups, if applicable. If not, you can distribute them into the appropriate group(s). (Hint: Do this now while they're in the temporary folder - if you wait, you'll have to find them all in your library later!)

 

Loading ...