Skip to main content

EndNote x9: Intro

A guide to using EndNote, your new favorite citation manager!

New version of EndNote

Gumberg Library is now supporting EndNote x9! For those who haven't updated from x8, the information in this guide will work for both versions, except where noted.

EndNote Guide

Welcome to Gumberg Library's EndNote Guide. EndNote's citation management software is a useful tool for organizing references and creating bibliographies. It is available for free to all Duquesne University users.

Not sure if EndNote is for you? Watch this introductory video to find out how EndNote can be used in your research!

View our webinar for a basic overview of EndNote, including a tour of EndNote and demonstrations on downloading citations from the databases and using the Microsoft Word plug-in. Plus, learn how to get EndNote assistance! (This video is about EndNote x8, but the information here still applies to EndNote x9!)

Features

EndNote has many features that will assist you during the research project, including:

  • Downloading citations from our databases
  • Creating bibliographies in over 5,000 styles
  • Generating in-text citations within your Word document
  • Attaching full text articles to your citations
  • Annotating attached PDFs
  • Syncing references to access from any computer
  • Sharing references with other users

Find Full Text Setup

You must setup your Find Full Text preferences in order to search our databases. This will allow EndNote to automatically search for and find the full text or articles, and attach them to your citations.

PC Users: Go to Edit > Preferences > Find Full Text

Mac Users: Go to EndNote > Preferences > Find Full Text

Change the OpenURL to http://imageserver.ebscohost.com/branding/s9004660/FullTextFinder.html? as seen below.

Change the Authenticate With URL to http://authenticate.library.duq.edu/login?url= as seen below.

New Open URL

Check Back Soon for EndNote Workshops!

Check back soon for more EndNote workshop dates!

Need help now? Watch the "Exploring EndNote" webinar in this guide or Ask a Librarian to get help from Gumberg!

Guide Author

This guide was originally created by Michael Janakis, MLIS Spring 2017, further updated by Kelsey O'Rourke, MLIS, and is currently maintained by Sarah Hicks, MLIS.