Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Philosophy and Religion
Atla Religion This link opens in a new window
The premier index for journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion, with coverage from 1949 and retrospective indexing for several journal issues as far back as the nineteenth century. Journals are selected for inclusion according to their scholarly merit and scope.
Library of Latin Texts This link opens in a new window
Latin texts from Antiquity, the Patristic period until 500; the Vulgate; the Patristic period from 501 to 735; the Middle Ages, from 736 to 1500; and the neo-Latin period from 1501 to 1965.
Contemporary Authors This link opens in a new window
A database that includes biographic details on approximately 100,000 modern novelists, poets, playwrights, nonfiction writers, journalists and scriptwriters. Featured are current writers, the most-studied literary figures of the early 20th Century and authors from around the world whose works have been translated into English or published in the United States.
Early Church Fathers (Nicene Fathers) This link opens in a new window
A 38-volume collection of writings from the first 800 years of the Church, divided into three series: Ante-Nicene (ANF), Nicene and Post-Nicene Series I (NPNF1), and Nicene and Post-Nicene Series II (NPNF2).
Encyclopedia Judaica This link opens in a new window
Provides an exhaustive and organized overview of Jewish life and knowledge from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel, from Rabbinic to modern Yiddish literature, from Kabbalah to 'Americana' and from Zionism to the contribution of Jews to world cultures.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Index to Jewish Periodicals This link opens in a new window
This database provides a comprehensive guide to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 160 journals devoted to Jewish affairs. Journal coverage dates back as far as 1988.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A reliable and comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature, including searchable and browsable tables of contents and full text articles from both multidisciplinary and discipline-specific journal collections.
King James Bible (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The King James or Authorized Version of the Bible was printed in 1611 and became the standard edition of the Bible for nearly three centuries. Arguably the most influential single document for English literary studies, this fully searchable online version presents the full text (of the â€˜Heâ€™ version) with all introductory matter, annotation, calendars, genealogies and tables.
New Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This database, an indispensable research and bibliographic aid for scholars, librarians, clergy, and students of the New Testament and its historical milieu, contains more than 44,000 article abstracts, 1,200 review abstracts, 16,500 book abstracts, and 50 software abstracts.
NLM Gateway This link opens in a new window
Allows users simultaneous searching of multiple National Library of Medicine (NLM) databases, including: MEDLINE/PubMed, MEDLINEplus, HSRProj, DIRLINE, TOXLINE, and the NLM Catalog. Designed to be a more user-friendly method of using NLM's databases, however, it does not offer the same functionality as PubMed.
Old Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This database features indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-author works, and software related to Old Testament studies. Content from over 450 journals is covered. All abstracts are in English, regardless of the language of the original work. Topics covered include antiquities, archaeology, biblical theology, philology and much more. Coverage in the database dates back to 1978.
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible (OEB) Digital Collection (formerly Oxford Biblical Studies Online) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive resource for the study of the Bible and biblical history, offering a ready access point for a wealth of Bible text and commentary—including the New Oxford Annotated Bible and five other popular Oxford Study Bibles
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Includes electronic editions of a wide range of Oxford's award-winning scholarly encyclopedias and reference titles.
Past Masters This link opens in a new window
This series encompasses the largest collection of primary source full-text electronic editions in philosophy in the world. The series includes significant collections in the history of political thought and theory, religious studies, education, German studies, sociology, the history and philosophy of science, economics, and classics. Includes the works of Anselm, Aquinas, Augustine, Berkeley, Calvin, Kant, Kiergegard, Plato, and Wittgenstein among others.
Patrologia Latina Database This link opens in a new window
This database is an electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina, published between 1844 and 1855, and the four volumes of indexes published between 1862 and 1865. Includes the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216, also includes the complete Patrologia Latina, including all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indexes, as well as Migne's column numbers, essential references for scholars.
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic database with informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. The literature covered goes back to 1940 and includes journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to an anthology, and book reviews. Updated quarterly.
Philosophy Documentation Center (POIESIS) This link opens in a new window
Access to the full text of a growing number of philosophy journals and serials, containing over 2,300 issues and 340,000 pages of text from 53 journals and series, and most of these are not available in electronic format from any other service. Also provides publishing services.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Provides 100% full-text access to over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.
Religion Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides a wide range of primarily full-text periodicals and other sources for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of many worldwide religions. As well as scholarly journals there are many titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations. The resource reflects a wide spectrum of religious belief systems and supports the global study of religion.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new window
With nearly 1600 entries online and designed so that each entry is maintained and kept up-to-date by an expert or group of experts in the field -- a dynamic reference work and is a publishing project of the Metaphysics Research Lab at the Center for the Study of Language and Information (CSLI) at Stanford University.
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) This link opens in a new window
**Please note you will have to create a unique account on TLG to access content. **
Digitized literary texts written in Greek from Homer to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453.
Christian Classics Ethereal Library This link opens in a new window
A digital library of hundreds of classic Christian books selected for edification and education.