Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA) This link opens in a new window
An indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education -- unique in its focus on the practical problems of society and also in that it covers both sociology and psychology.
Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
Weekly news and job-information source for college and university faculty members, administrators, and students.
1. Go to Chronicle.com and click on the “Log In” link at top, right-hand
side of the web page.
2. Sign In with your Duquesne University email if already registered. If not already registered,
Choose the “Create an account now” option.
3. Enter and confirm your duq.edu email address, then follow the
steps on the account set-up pages.
Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
Publisher of the world's widest range of management and library & information services journals, as well as a strong specialist range of engineering, applied science and technology journals.
ERIC - Educational Resources Information Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, this database provides extensive access to educational-related literature, including journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.
Gartner.com – IT Research This link opens in a new window
This database includes research findings on a wide range of IT-related topics, including analyses, opinions, trends, leading practices, and case studies.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Buros Center for Testing at the University of Nebraska, MMY provides users with a comprehensive guide to thousands of contemporary testing instruments. Coverage: Volume 1 to current.
Physical Education Index (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Abstracts featuring a wide variety of content, ranging from physical education curricula, to sports medicine, to dance. Other coverage includes sport law, kinesiology, motor learning, recreation, standardized fitness tests, sports equipment, business and marketing, coaching and training, and sport sociology/psychology.
Education Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and indexing of over 900 education journals, many in full-text to support the study and application of education across all levels of education, including early childhood education, primary and secondary education, and higher education. The database supports global study and research, including thousands of full-text journals, dissertations and other relevant sources.
PROSPERO This link opens in a new window
A free international database of prospectively registered systematic reviews in health and social care, welfare, public health, education, crime, justice, and international development, where there is a health related outcome. Aims to provide a comprehensive listing of systematic reviews to help avoid duplication and reduce opportunity for reporting bias by enabling comparison completed review with what was planned in the protocol. Users will need to set up an account with vendor to access.
Teacher Reference Center (TRC) This link opens in a new window
An index of 280 popular teacher and administrator trade journals, periodicals, and books. Topics include: Assessment, Best Practices, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Elementary Education, Higher Education, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, School Administration, Science & Mathematics, and Teacher Education.
TeachingBooks.net This link opens in a new window
TeachingBooks.net an easy-to-use website that adds a multimedia dimension to the reading experiences of children's and young adult books. Our online database is developed and maintained to include thousands of resources about fiction and nonfiction books used in the K–12 environment, with every resource selected to encourage the integration of multimedia author and book materials into reading and library activities.