Research Databases: E

Link to Gumberg Library's E-ZBorrow service to request books from the catalogs of more than 40 academic libraries throughout Pennsylvania as well as New Jersey and West Virginia. The borrowing period is four weeks with one renewal.

The years 1789–1875 saw the publication of many masterpieces of American fiction, and the Early American Fiction 1789–1875 collection restores the original literary context of these enduring classics, situating the work of canonical writers alongside numerous novels and short stories popular in their own time but now forgotten and largely inaccessible in print form.

The collection includes first editions of works by James Fenimore Cooper, Edgar Allan Poe and Nathaniel Hawthorne. Other highlights of the pre–1850 content include William Hill Brown's The Power of Sympathy, which has been recognized as the first American novel, extremely rare items such as the American printing of Susanna Haswell Rowson's Charlotte and Joseph Holt Ingraham's Alice May; or, The Lost of Mount Auburn.

Novels and short stories from the third quarter of the nineteenth century include Herman Melville's Moby Dick, Harriet Jacobs's Incidents in the Life of a Slave Girl, Written by Herself, and William Wells Brown's Clotelle, acknowledged as the first published novel by an African American writer.

A 38-volume collection of writings from the first 800 years of the Church, divided into three series: Ante-Nicene (ANF), Nicene and Post-Nicene Series I (NPNF1), and Nicene and Post-Nicene Series II (NPNF2).

Early English Prose Fiction is a balanced and representative survey of fictional prose in English from the period 1500-1700, comprising more than 200 works. The collection explores the rich diversity of prose fiction preceding the emergence of the realist novel as its dominant form. The database includes numerous rare texts inaccessible in print form together with early editions of all the best-known works of the period, such as John Bunyan’s "The Pilgrim’s Progress" and Sir Philip Sidney’s "Arcadia." Many different kinds of fiction are represented, from prose romances (such as Roger Boyle’s "Parthenissa") through to popular jest books (such as George Peele’s "Merrie Conceited Iests" and John Skelton’s "Merie Tales") and specimens of rogue literature (for example Elkanah Settle’s "The Notorious Impostor" and the anonymous "Life and Death of Mrs. Mary Frith, Commonly Called Mal Cutpurse").

EBSCO's ebook collection includes a wide selection of academic e-books including reference works, scholarly monographs, literature, and fiction from top publishers and presses.

Journals, books, and working papers on economics. Provides citations for dissertations and articles in more than 620 collective volumes per year.

11 major editions from the First Folio of 1623 to the Cambridge edition of 1863-1866; 28 separate contemporary printings of individual plays and poem; selected apocrypha and related works. In addition it contains more than 100 adaptations, sequels and burlesques from the 17th, 18th, and 19th centuries, including the whole of Bell's Acting Edition of Shakespeare's Plays (1774).

From the first book published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare, this incomparable collection now contains more than 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement.

Eighteenth-Century Fiction brings together 96 complete works of English prose from the period 1700–1780 by writers from the British Isles. It is among the largest collections of literature from the period available in electronic form.

The eighteenth century saw an enormous increase in the production and publication of prose narratives. It was a period of great creative experiment as the structure and conventions of what would be termed the novel were shaped and developed. Eighteenth-Century Fiction offers students and researchers access to this dynamic period of English literary history. It not only represents all the major writers associated with the 'rise of the novel' - Daniel Defoe, Henry Fielding, Samuel Richardson, Tobias Smollett, and Laurence Sterne - but also many less well-known, but equally vital and significant figures, such as Penelope Aubin, Richard Graves, Charles Johnstone, Mary de la Rivière Manley and Sarah Scott.

Publisher of the world's widest range of management and library & information services journals, as well as a strong specialist range of engineering, applied science and technology journals.

Provides an exhaustive and organized overview of Jewish life and knowledge from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel, from Rabbinic to modern Yiddish literature, from Kabbalah to 'Americana' and from Zionism to the contribution of Jews to world cultures.

English Drama contains more than 3,900 plays in verse and prose from the late thirteenth century - the likely date of the Shrewsbury Fragments - to the early twentieth. It offers exhaustive coverage of the prodigious dramatic literature of the Elizabethan and Jacobean periods, as well as Restoration plays, medieval morality plays and mystery cycles, and nineteenth-century closet dramas. The works were acted on or intended for the stage, and includes masques, interludes, short dramatic pieces, translations, and adaptations. In addition to works by major dramatists such as Ben Jonson, Aphra Behn, William Wycherley, Oliver Goldsmith, Richard Sheridan, Oscar Wilde and J. M. Synge, English Drama includes the dramatic writings of many more neglected writers long inaccessible in print form.

The original ground-breaking Chadwyck-Healey collection, English Poetry, contains over 160,000 poems, essentially comprising the complete canon of English poetry of the British Isles from the 8th century to around 1900. Drawn from nearly 4,500 printed sources, more than 1,250 poets are represented.

In addition to the six-volume series of the Anglo-Saxon Poetic Records, several landmark anthologies are available in their entirety, including England's Helicon, Richard Tottel's "Miscellany", and Robert Dodsley's "A Collection of Poems in Six Volumes. By Several Hands."

Redefines the English poetic canon for the 21st century, building on the achievement of the original English Poetry collection with the addition of more than 20,000 poems from several new categories.

Essentially comprises the complete canon of English poetry of the British Isles and the British Empire from the 8th century to the early 20th, drawing from nearly 4,900 printed sources and representing more than 2,700 poets. The newly-added works illuminate both the literary heritages of Commonwealth and ex-colonial countries and the poetic legacies of English writers only recently brought back to scholarly attention.

Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, this database provides extensive access to educational-related literature, including journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.

Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, this database provides extensive access to educational-related literature, including journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.