Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A reliable and comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature, including searchable and browsable tables of contents and full text articles from both multidisciplinary and discipline-specific journal collections.
Music Index This link opens in a new window
This database duly cites book reviews, obituaries, news periodicals, and news and articles about music, musicians, and the music industry. Comprehensive subject-author guide to music periodical literature with coverage spanning from 1976 to the present. Contains surveyed data from 775 international music periodicals from over 40 countries, with English translations from 22 languages.
Music Periodicals Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 430 international music periodicals, plus full text for 110 journals. It covers a comprehensive range of subject areas in both scholarly and popular music journals ranging from International Journal of Music Education, Ethnomusicology, Jazz Education Journal and Musical Times to Rock and Rap Confidential and Rolling Stone. Articles examine the full spectrum of subjects and all aspects of music, including music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, popular music forms and composition.
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
Streaming audio for 75,000+ tracks of classical, jazz, and world music, Naxos also includes opera summaries, librettos, and other text resources related to the study of music. (note: 10 users may access Naxos simultaneously)
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
The gateway to Grove Music Online, also with access to the Oxford Dictionary of Music and the Oxford Companion to Music, the authoritative resource for music research with over 52,000 articles written by nearly 9,000 scholars charting the diverse history and cultures of music around the globe.
Oxford History of Western Music This link opens in a new window
An account of the evolution of Western classical music by musicologist Richard Taruskin, including 500 images, and 1,800 musical examples from the updated paperback edition with sophisticated search and browse functionality designed to maximize the dynamic possibilities of online reading and research.
Grove Music Online This link opens in a new windowThe world’s premier online music encyclopedia, offering comprehensive coverage of music, musicians, music-making, and music scholarship. Written and edited by nearly 9,000 subject experts, Grove’s 51,000 articles offer clear overviews of topics from a scholarly perspective and include extensive bibliographies. Grove’s 33,000 biographical articles provide life information and detailed works lists for composers, performers, and other important musical figures. Also features more than 5,000 images, musical examples, and links to audio and video examples.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Provides 100% full-text access to over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window
Indexes the literature covering all areas of music, including historical musicology; ethnomusicology; instruments and voice; librarianship; performance practice and notation; theory and analysis; pedagogy; liturgy; dance; criticism and music therapy. The database encompasses significant writings on music from all types of scholarly works produced worldwide, such as articles, books, dissertations, record and concert reviews and more. Produced by the Repertoire International de Litterature Musicale.