Research Databases: A

Search nearly 1800 worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more.

Offers full text for more than 2,000 serials, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. This multi-disciplinary database covers virtually every area of academic study. More than 100 journals have PDF images back to 1985.

Brings together highly ranked global and scholarly journals with key resources for locating quick and precise results covering current news and topics, as well as the trends and history influencing important accounting and tax issues of the day.

Database of American Chemical Society journals and archives.

Contains the text of the 68 printed volumes of published in Antwerp and Brussels by the Societe des Bollandistes from the two January volumes published in 1643 to the Propylaeum to December published in 1940. Also includes several indices.

African American Poetry contains nearly 3,000 poems by African American poets of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. It provides a comprehensive survey of the early history of African American poetry, from the first recorded poem by an African American (Lucy Terry Prince's 'Bars Fight', c.1746) to the major poets of the nineteenth century, including Paul Laurence Dunbar and Frances Ellen Watkins Harper.

The authors and works included in the collection show the huge variety of this relatively unexplored area of American literary history. Coverage includes writers from both North and South, from rural and urban backgrounds, and ranges from university-educated professionals to those for whom the very acts of reading and writing constituted a defiance of Southern slave laws.

For over 40 years, Heinemann's African Writers Series (AWS) published the key texts of modern African literature, holding unique importance in the history of postcolonial writing. The aim was to produce a paperback series featuring writing by African authors (initially, this was limited to black African authors) that would be affordable for a general African readership. As African nations won independence, writers like Chinua Achebe began to forge distinctive national literatures throughout the continent. Independence also led to a demand from African schools and universities for contemporary African writing to replace the European bias of existing syllabuses. The AWS took on this role and published works by all the major authors of this period, together with classic earlier texts and new writing, making the series significant in African cultural history.

This online edition includes over 250 volumes of fiction, poetry, drama and non-fictional prose, including works by Ama Ata Aidoo, Steve Biko, Buchi Emecheta, Nadine Gordimer, Bessie Head, Doris Lessing, Nelson Mandela, Dambudzo Marechera, Christopher Okigbo, Okot p'Bitek and Tayeb Salih.

The NAL Catalog (AGRICOLA) provides citations to agricultural literature.

Published since 1964, the definitive bibliographic reference covering the history, culture, area studies, and current affairs literature of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Content Includes indexing for over 1,800 journals from 1895 to the present; citations and links to books and media reviews; coverage for some titles goes back to the 19th and early 20th centuries.

Containing more than 1,500 dramatic works from the colonial period to the beginning of the twentieth century, American Drama 1714–1915 provides literary researchers and historians with a comprehensive survey of American dramaturgy from its origins up to the era of sensational melodrama and manners comedy exemplified by the work of such playwrights as David Belasco, Clyde Fitch and William Vaughn Moody.

Early landmark texts represented in the collection include Robert Hunter's satire Androboros (1714), the earliest printed American play, and Thomas Godfrey's tragedy The Prince of Parthia (1765), the first American play professionally performed on an American stage. Highlights from the nineteenth century include George Aiken's stage adaptation of Uncle Tom's Cabin, one of the most popular dramatic works of its period both in America and Europe, The Escape; or, A Leap for Freedom (1857) by William Wells Brown, and The Octoroon (1859), widely recognized as Dion Boucicault's most important American-themed play.

The world's most comprehensive abstracts service dealing solely with analytical chemistry. It contains references to articles from more than 3000 journals, with coverage beginning in 1980. The full text of the articles is not given, but all items since 1984 contain abstracts of the principal analytical points in each article.

Find primary research literature and identify the principal contributions in more than 45 scientific disciplines. Publications are among the highest cited publications by impact factor according to the Journal Citation Reports® published by Thomson Reuters.

An indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education -- unique in its focus on the practical problems of society and also in that it covers both sociology and psychology.

The premier index for journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion, with coverage from 1949 and retrospective indexing for several journal issues as far back as the nineteenth century. Journals are selected for inclusion according to their scholarly merit and scope.