Skip to main content

Ann Labounsky Steele Sacred Music Collections: For Researchers

Links for Researchers

Listening in the Library

Gumberg Library does have listening equipment that may be used by researchers to listen to the many sound recordings housed in the Mary Jane Schultz Music Center on the 5th floor of Gumberg.

Equipment available:

  • CD player
  • DVD player
  • Record player

 

Ask-A-Librarian

Ask a Librarian

Email, text, telephone or meet with a Reference Librarian.

Guide Credit

This guide was created through the efforts of Mikayla Wobrak, Music Library Intern 2017-2018, and Melodie Frankovitch, Special Projects Librarian.

Chart of Sacred Music Collections

About this LibGuide

The sacred music special collections housed by the Duquesne University Archives includes several major collections as well as notable minor collections.

 

  • Major Collections: The six major collections all have their own LibGuide pages and archival finding aids (which can be found under the Sacred Music Special Collections tab of this guide).
  • Minor Collections: These smaller collections may or may not have a finding aid of their own. You can view the Minor Collections page of this LibGuide (also under the Sacred Music Special Collections tab).

In this LibGuide, you will also find library resources and information about Ann's mentors, major figures in the Sainte-Clotilde (French) organ tradition, as well as the legacy of sacred music program at Duquesne University.

Borrowing Privileges for Researchers

Duquesne Alumni: Full details for Alumni Borrowers may be found here. You must complete a registration form at the Circulation Desk to become an Alumni Borrower.

  • Circulating books may be checked out for 28 days, with one renewal permitted
  • Materials from other collections (Music, Curriculum Center, Audiovisuals, Phenomenology Center) circulate according to their respective time frames
  • A maximum of 20 items may be checked out at a given time
  • Renewals may be requested in person or over the phone at 412-396-6130

Researchers not affiliated with Duquesne: Full details for non-Duquesne researchers who wish to borrow materials may be found here. Applications for special borrowers are considered on a case-by-case basis. Please email library-circ@duq.edu to inquire.

  • Special and guest borrowers may borrow up to twenty (20) items.
    • Books circulate for 28 days with one renewal for 28 days.
    • AV Materials, manipulatives, and kits circulate for 14 days with one renewal for 14 days.
  • Special and guest borrowers are not permitted to place holds on materials, check out library equipment, study rooms, reserve material, or special collections items.
  • Borrowing privileges will be suspended when overdue fines exceed $5.00.
  • Borrowing privileges can be terminated at any time at the discretion of Library Administration.

Using the Archives and Special Collections

Please plan ahead and call the Archives at 412-396-4870 to make an appointment if you wish to utilize any of the Music Archives and Special Collections.

The University Archives is open to the entire Duquesne community, alumni, and the general public. Reference and research requests may be made by telephone.

Documents, books and other materials housed in the University Archives and Special Collections are rare or unique and do not circulate. Archival collections are to be used only in the designated reading area.

Patrons are required to use pencils while working with collections. Photocopying is permitted at the discretion of the University Archivist. Photocopies will be made by a member of the Archives staff or by patrons authorized to take materials to an appropriate copy machine in the library. They will be required to leave a form of identification with the staff until the material is returned.

The University Archives reserves the right to limit the use of fragile, deteriorating, or rare material that may be further damaged by handling. However, every attempt will be made to make collections available.

Contact Information

If you have any questions or would like to see the collections in person, please feel free to contact us.

Terra Merkey, Music Librarian
Phone: 412-396-1542
Email: merkeyt@duq.edu

Thomas White, University Archivist and Curator of Special Collections
Phone: 412-396-4870
Email: whitet@duq.edu