Paul J. Sifler was a Slovenian composer and organist best known for his tragic work for organ, The Despair and Agony of Dachau.
Ann began studying with Sifler at the age of 15. He was the organist-choirmaster at the Christ Church of Oyster Bay, New York. John LaMontaine, Paul Sifler's partner and Ann's high school piano teacher, encouraged Ann to apply to the Eastman School of Music, where she would study with David Craighead.
In the Collection
The Seven Last Words of Christ by Paul Sifler, performed by composer
Call Number: R-13730 (Archives)
Yuletide and Birds, Recitative, Passacaglia and Fugue by Paul Sifler, performed by composer
Call Number: R-13794 (Archives)
In Memoriam, Paul Sifler
Call Number: CD-5708 (Archives)
Online Resources
Paul J. Sifler Collection at Eastman School of Music - Eastman School of Music has a collection of Paul J. Sifler's published works, manuscripts, recordings, and other works.
Marilyn Mason is a concert organist, recording artist, and teacher. She was named International Performer of the Year in 1988 by the American Guild of Organists New York City chapter, upon which occasion she was described as being "among the important influences on the American organ scene in the second half of the 20th century."
Ann studied with Marilyn at the University of Michigan while pursuing her Masters' degree in Music (M.M.).
American Guild of Organists' Master Series - Offers a short documentary about the life, career, and teaching of pre-eminent organist Marilyn Mason.
In the Collection
Hommage à Langlais edited by Marilyn Mason
Call Number: ML410 .L2487 1996x (Archives)
Online Resources
New York City chapter of the American Guild of Organists: International Performer of the Year 1988
MLive (2012): U-M organist and longest-serving faculty member retires after 67 years: 'The organ has meant my life'
Wikpedia: Marilyn Mason
(Photo source: Musica et Moria)
In the Collection
Marcel Dupré, the work of a master organist
Call Number: ML416 .D83 M9 1985 (Archives)
Variations Sur un Noël pour grand orgue, Op. 20, Marcel Duprë
Call Number: M11 .D94 OP. 20x (Archives)
(Photo source: YouTube)
In the Collection
Tribute to André Marchal
Call Number: ML 416 .M37 H65x (Archives)
André Marchal Enregistrements inedits
Call Number: R-04021 (Archives)
César Franck, performed by André Marchal
Call Number: R-13718 (Archives)
André Marchal, Westminster Organ Concert
Call Number: R-14326 (Archives)
Online Resources
Remembering André Marchal 1894-1980, by Ann Labounsky
https://openmusiclibrary.org/article/867937/
"I am here not to hinder prayer, but to help it; I am at the service of the liturgy...For me, being at the organ is praying."
Marcel Dupré
Ann Labounsky and Marilyn Mason
May 2011
(source)
Ann Labounsky and David Craighead
Denver 1999
(source)
Ann Labounsky and Paul Sifler
1989
(source)
Ann Labounsky with Jean Langlais
December 1964
(source)
Ann Labounsky with Jean Langlais
Aboard the S.S. France enroute to the United States in 1964
(source)
"To play only what is written is the domain of science. To realize what is not written is the domain of art."
Jean Langlais
David Craighead was a noted organist who taught at the Eastman School of Music for almost 40 years.
Ann began her studies with Craighead in 1961 while she pursued a Bachelor's degree in Organ. She described his teaching style as "meticulous in every detail" but "patient in working with us until we got it right." - from an interview with Andrew Scanlon for The Diapason.
In the Collection
David Craighead Collection at Duquesne University Archives - Includes PDF finding aid for the archival collection as well as links to streaming media and selected texts from the collection.
For additional resources see the David Craighead Finding Aid in ArchivesSpace.
Online Resources
Ann Labounsky studied with Jean Langlais, André Marchal, and Marcel Dupré while in Paris on a Fulbright Grant from 1962 to 1964 at the Schola Cantorum.
American Guild of Organists Murtagh-McFarlane Archives - The Organ Library and Archives contains papers of Jean Langlais running from 1953-1973.
In the Collection
Jean Langlais, a Bio-Bibliography by Kathleen Thomerson
Call Number: ML134 .L18 T5 1988 (Archives)
Hommage à Langlais edited by Marilyn Mason
Call Number: ML410 .L2487 1996x (Archives)
Jean Langlais, Ombre et Lumière by Marie-Louise Jaquet-Langlais
Call Number: ML410 .L2487 J32x (Archives)
Fête by Jean Langlais (score)
Call Number: M11 .L3 F4 1949x (Archives)
Jean Langlais et le Chant Gregorien (organist Rollin Smith)
Call Number: R-13685 (Archives)
Jean Langlais, aux Grandes Orgues Cavaillé- Coll de Sainte-Clotilde
Call Number: R-14296 (Archives)
Charles Tournemire, Jean Langlais, Cesar Franck: Pupil and Successor at Sainte-Clotilde
Call NUmber: R-14316 (Archives)
Cesar Franck à Sainte-Clotilde, Jean Langlais aux Grandes Orgues Cavaille-Coll de Sainte-Clotilde
Call Number: R-14562, vols. 1-3 (Archives)
Online Resources
Robert Sutherland Lord was a well-known organist based in the University of Pittsburgh, where he began working at as the Heinz Memorial Chapel Organist in 1962 and later began to teach as a tenured professor in 1963.
Ann studied with Lord while attending the University of Pittsburgh for her Ph.D. in Musicology.
Online Resources
Robert Sutherland Lord Papers, 1890-2013 at the ULS Archives & Special Collections - The University of Pittsburgh ULS Archives and Special Collections contains a collection of Robert Sutherland Lord's personal and professional papers.
