Skip to main content
Duquesne Home Library Home Ask a Librarian Research Databases QuickSearch E-Z Borrow Course Reserves ILLiad Library Hours Citation Management Renew Materials

Music Library Resources: David Craighead Collection

David Craighead

Accessing the Collection

Craighead Donates Collection

David Craighead Collection

This is a large collection from the music library of renowned organist and teacher David Craighead. The bulk of the collection is a wide array of organ music - from Bach to Reger to lesser known composers - with David Craighead's markings and notes. The collection also includes personal and professional correspondence, recital programs, and some recordings on reel-to-reel tape, cassette tape, and CD. 

David Craighead was awarded his bachelor of music degree in 1946 from the Curtis Institute of Music in Philadelphia.  He taught in the music department of Occidental College from 1948 through 1955 before his appointment at the Eastman School of Music. At Eastman, Craighead served as professor of organ and chair of the organ division of the keyboard department until his retirement in 1992. Many of his students went on to hold positions in colleges and churches across the country. Craighead was also organist of St. Paul’s Episcopal Church in Rochester. Professor Craighead was a renowned recitalist, performing throughout the United States and Europe. Professor Craighead received both teaching and performance honors. He received Honorary Doctorates from Lebanon Valley College and Duquesne University, where he also served as Adjunct Professor of Organ. He was married to organist Marianne Craighead for 47 years, and he himself passed away on March 25, 2012 at the age of 88.

Selected Texts

Sound Recordings

Organbook I & III by William Albright

Organist: David Craighead

Call Number: CD6787 (Archives)

David Craighead, Organ

William Albright, the King of Instruments

Vincent Persichetti, Sonata for Organ, op. 86

Chorale Prelude: "Drop, Drop Slow Tears"

Call Number: R-10886, 2 copies (Archives)

Publication Date: 1981

David Craighead plays the Möller-Rosales Organ in Bridges Hall, Ponoma College, Claremont, California

Lou Harrison: Concerto for Organ with Percussion Orchestra

Samuel Adler: Xenia, a Dialogue for Organ and Percussion

Paul Cooper: Variants for Organ

Call Number: R-11972 (Archives)

Recorded in 1976 and 1977

David Craighead, Organist

The Last Rose of Summer and other things they played

Call Number: R-14293, 2 copies (Archives)

Publication Date: 1986

David Craighead, Organist

Playing the Mildred Miles Crew Memorial Organ in Herrick Memorial Chapel, Occidental College, Los Angeles

Olivier Messiaen: L'Ascension

César Franck: Fantaisie in A

Felix Mendelssohn: Sonata III

Call Number: R-14324 (Archives)

Publication Date: [196-]

Craighead as a Performer

A sampling of recordings of David Craighead.

Links go to the Naxos Music Library database. If you are off-campus, you must sign in with your DUQ Multi-Pass to listen for free.

Obituary

Contact Us

If you have any questions or would like to see the collections in person, please feel free to contact us.

Terra Merkey, Music Librarian
Phone: 412-396-1542
Email: merkeyt@duq.edu

Thomas White, University Archivist and Curator of Special Collections
Phone: 412-396-4870
Email: whitet@duq.edu