Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Starting with a Specific Journal
If you're looking for articles in a particular journal:
Use the E-Journals list or Browzine to see if we have electronic access. You can also search for a journal from the library homepage.
If we don't have it electronically, check DUQSearch to see if we have it in print. Make sure to limit format to Journal/Serial.
Tips for Using Databases
Use search operators to narrow or widen your search:
- AND: to narrow your topic and retrieve fewer results. Ex.: Ravel and ballet
- OR: to narrow your topic and retrieve more results. Ex.: cello or violoncello
- *: the truncation symbol will retrieve all words beginning with that stem. Ex. symphon*
- " ": to combine two or more words in a phrase. Ex.: "ars nova"
Even though each database has its own interface, you can expect that ALL databases will have these commonalities:
- Keyword or subject headings
- Links to Full Text OR other links to locate full text
- A way to save, email, and/or export citations
Research Databases at the Library
Free Online Journals and Databases
In addition to Duquesne-subscribed databases, there are free, open-access journals and databases which may be helpful in your research. These can be found below.
Boston Symphony Orchestra Archives
The BSO Archives contains over 7,500 BSO concert programs and over 2,000 images. Over 17,000 performances are searchable through HENRY, the BSO's Performance History Search and link back to the digital collection of concert programs.
ECHO: A Music-Centered Journal
An interdisciplinary, peer-reviewed journal created and edited by graduate students in the UCLA Department of Musicology (some articles require Quicktime and Flash plugins).
Journal for Seventeenth Century Music
Published by the Society for Seventeenth Century Music.
Journal of Music History Pedagogy
A peer-reviewed, open-access, online journal on teaching music history of all levels and disciplines.
Leon Levy Digital Archives
This free resource from the New York Philharmonic has now become the first major symphony orchestra to provide open access to its perfomance history data. This database makes more than 20,000 concerts available for all users.
Speech, Music and Hearing
A publication of the Royal Institute of Technology in Stockholm, Sweden, this multidisciplinary journal covers speech communication, speech technology, speech coding, music acoustics, and auditory perception.
Ask a Librarian
Email, text, telephone or meet with a Reference Librarian.