LibGuides: Patient and Healthcare Professional Narratives: Articles, Journals & Databases

Articles, Journals, & Databases

Below is the link to our full list of databases, as well as some key databases that may be helpful for you to consider.

APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window Citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. Coverage spans 1887 to present, including international material selected from more than 2,100 periodicals in more than 25 languages. Produced by the American Psychological Association.
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) This link opens in a new window Indexing for more than 3,000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, this database contains more than 2.9 million records dating back to 1981, as well as complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses’ Association: health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters.
Consumer Health Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Covers an enormous range of subjects of value in the public library context - from sports injuries to women's health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry. It includes important general medical journals such as The Lancet and The New England Journal of Medicine as well as a strong selection of consumer and news magazines.
Embase This link opens in a new window Covers the most important international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day and all articles are indexed in depth using Elsevier's Life Science thesaurus Embase Indexing and Emtree®.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals, including nearly 450 peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals.
Ovid Healthstar This link opens in a new window Comprised of data from the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) MEDLINE and former HealthSTAR databases, containing citations to the published literature on health services, technology, administration, and research. It focuses on both the clinical and non-clinical aspects of health care delivery.
PubMed @ Duquesne This link opens in a new window Enables you to connect directly to Gumberg Library holdings via PubMed. PubMed provides access to bibliographic information that includes MEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, as well as the out-of-scope citations from certain MEDLINE journals; citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing; and some additional life science journals that submit full text to PubMedCentral and receive a qualitative review by NLM.

Databases A-Z

Searching with Keywords

A keyword search can be used to expand your search beyond specific medical language while keeping your returned results relevant. While researching, observe if there are certain phrases or words that appear frequently in different articles that relate to your subject. It may also take multiple searches experimenting with different term combinations to find material on your specific subject.

Keyword Search:

Searching PubMed

Experiential narratives can seem unconventional compared to a typical medical subject search. To help limit your search to the most relevant articles, try including the following Medical Subject Heading (MeSH) terms:

Narratives	Narrative Medicine
Attitude to Illness	Clinical Exemplars
Speech Sample	Storytelling

MeSH Search:

Full Text Options

This guide explains some of the most frequently used ways to find full text at Duquesne.

Finding Full Text Guide

This tool will pop up in many databases and web pages and help you find full text. It takes less than one minute to setup.

See our LibKey Nomad guide for more information and help with setup.

Borrow From Other Libraries

There are ways of getting access to materials not available at Duquesne by contacting and borrowing from other libraries.

When Gumberg doesn’t have an article, you can order it for free electronic delivery using ILLiad.

See our ILLiad Guide for more information.