LibGuides: Enforced and Involuntary Disappearances: Learn More

Overview

This page is designed to provide you with resources on the subject of enforced and involuntary disappearances.

Web Resources

Amnesty International - Enforced Disappearances Amnesty International calls on governments to provide answers and justice to families who suffer from losing a loved one due to forced or involuntary disappearances.
Asian Federation Against Involuntary Disappearances (AFAD) The Asian Federation Against Involuntary Disappearances (AFAD) is a federation of human rights organizations working directly on the issue of involuntary disappearances in Asia.
Council of Europe - Document on Enforced Disappearances The Commissioner for Human Rights calls on Council of Europe member states to fulfill their responsibilities by looking into and acting on all cases of missing persons and enforced disappearance. Published March 2016.
International Coalition Against Enforced Disappearances (ICAED) The objectives of the Coalition work in favor of an early ratification and effective implementation of the Convention for the Protection of all Persons from Enforced Disappearances.
OHCHR: Committee on Enforced Disappearances The Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR) has lead responsibility for the promotion and protection of human rights, and for implementing the human rights program within the UN.
Refworld: Human Rights/Disappeared Persons Reports Browse Refworld's collection of published reports on the subject of disappeared persons across the world. Refworld is part of the UNHCR.

Parents of disappeared persons stage a silent sit-in against enforced disappearances in Srinagar, India. (April 11, 2015 by Two Circles)

Definitions and Reference

Research Databases

Academic Search Elite (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Offers full text for more than 2,000 serials, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. This multi-disciplinary database covers virtually every area of academic study. More than 100 journals have PDF images back to 1985.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window Published since 1964, the definitive bibliographic reference covering the history, culture, area studies, and current affairs literature of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Content Includes indexing for over 1,800 journals from 1895 to the present; citations and links to books and media reviews; coverage for some titles goes back to the 19th and early 20th centuries.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window In-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day, written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research. Graphics, photos and short "sidebar" features round out the reports. Shorter "Hot Topics" articles provide a solid introduction to subjects most in demand by students. Coverage: 1923 - Present.
Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window Publisher of the world's widest range of management and library & information services journals, as well as a strong specialist range of engineering, applied science and technology journals.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window Full-text access to encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window Reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, covered in the EBSCOhost database "America: History and Life"). Over 2,000 journals published throughout the world are covered; includes a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window A reliable and comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature, including searchable and browsable tables of contents and full text articles from both multidisciplinary and discipline-specific journal collections.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window Provides 100% full-text access to over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window ProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window Includes thousands of full-text titles, with a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, important and general interest magazines. This combination of general reference volume and scope makes it one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer, designed to cover the top 150 core academic subject reference areas, as well as provide hundreds of general interest periodicals from around the world.
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window An online collection of SAGE journals that cover a wide array of interdisciplinary subject areas including business, humanities, social science, and science, technology and medicine.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Full text of hundreds of scientific, technical, and medical journals published by Elsevier, Academic Press, and selected additional publishers from 1995 to present, and enables searching of abstracts of articles from more than 3,000 journals.