Getting Started

This section contains databases relevant to studying the aspects of yellow fever relevant to the health sciences. Related Gumberg Library research guides provide further information and resources.

Helpful Search Terms

Included here are examples of search terms that can be used to identify material relevant to the medicinal study of yellow fever. These are not comprehensive but can serve as inspiration for conducting your own research. For more information on tailoring searches for databases using MeSH or CINAHL terms, see the Gumberg Library's MeSH Tutorial and CINAHL Subject Headings Tutorial videos.

Yellow fever
Yellow fever virus
Yellow fever vaccine
Yellow fever AND virology
Yellow fever vaccine AND history
Yellow fever AND epidemiology

Selected Background Sources

Here you will find a selection of background sources for research into yellow fever. For additional databases, see the full list of Gumberg Library Medicine Databases.

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window Provides a variety of resources needed to excel in basic science studies and clerkships; instant access to videos, self-assessment, and leading medical textbooks with optimized content for any mobile device.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window Elsevier’s ClinicalKey gives you access to quick answers at the point of care alongside trusted, comprehensive medical evidence. It includes clinical overviews, full-text books and journals, drug information, procedure videos, clinical calculators, patient education handouts, practice guidelines, clinical trials, and MEDLINE® citations and abstracts. Physicians can earn and claim CME.
LWW Health Sciences: Medical Education This link opens in a new window This resource includes the LWW Health Library: Premium Basic Sciences Collection & the LWW Health Library: Osteopathic Medicine Collection, as well as combining the Integrated Basic Sciences collection, the Lippincott Illustrated Review book series, the gold-standard Bates’ Guide to Physical Examination & History Taking, and more.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window Login with your UpToDate username and password. First Time Users must register before logging in. See the

Selected Research Databases

Here you will find a selection of databases useful for medical research into yellow fever. For additional databases, see the full list of Gumberg Library Medicine Databases.

CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) This link opens in a new window Indexing for more than 3,000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, this database contains more than 2.9 million records dating back to 1981, as well as complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses’ Association: health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters.
Embase This link opens in a new window Covers the most important international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day and all articles are indexed in depth using Elsevier's Life Science thesaurus Embase Indexing and Emtree®.
Global Index Medicus (GIM) This link opens in a new window Provides worldwide access to biomedical and public health literature produced by and within low-middle income countries, combining the Africa Index Medicus (AIM), the Index Medicus for the Eastern Mediterranean Region (IMEMR), The Index Medicus for the South-East Asia Region (IMSEAR), the Latin American and the Caribbean Literature on Health Sciences (LILACS), and the Western Pacific Region Index Medicus (WPRO). The material is collated and aggregated by WHO Regional Office Libraries on a central search platform allowing retrieval of bibliographical and full text information.
PubMed @ Duquesne This link opens in a new window Enables you to connect directly to Gumberg Library holdings via PubMed. PubMed provides access to bibliographic information that includes MEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, as well as the out-of-scope citations from certain MEDLINE journals; citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing; and some additional life science journals that submit full text to PubMedCentral and receive a qualitative review by NLM.

Related Gumberg Research Guides

Use these guides to further explore this or related topics.

Embase Basics
by David Nolfi Last Updated Apr 12, 2024 462 views this year
Health Data & Statistics
by David Nolfi Last Updated Feb 20, 2024 22 views this year
Health Disparities
by Jo Dienst Last Updated Feb 22, 2024 191 views this year
Health Sciences Literature Searching
by David Nolfi Last Updated Jun 27, 2023 910 views this year
Health Sciences Searching Videos
by David Nolfi Last Updated Feb 20, 2024 21 views this year
History of Health Care Policy
by David Nolfi Last Updated May 16, 2023 1 views this year
Undergraduate Nursing Quick Start Guide
by David Nolfi Last Updated Feb 22, 2024 20 views this year

History of Yellow Fever

Getting Started

Helpful Search Terms

Selected Background Sources

Selected Research Databases

Related Gumberg Research Guides