Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Undergraduate Nursing Quick Start Guide

This guide is meant as a quick way to get to commonly used library resources for undergraduate nursing students.

Key Databases

CINAHL, Embase, and PubMed are the most commonly used databases for finding articles for nursing research. Each of these databases require logging in via Duquesne Multipass.

Additional Databases

Nurses will very frequently also consult literature across multiple disciplines including medicine, the physical sciences, and the social sciences. See below for more database resources.

Finding Research Articles

Finding Full Text ► A guide to help you find full text of articles. Note - if you find an article that Gumberg does not offer in full text, please see our resources on requesting articles via interlibrary loan (ILLiad).

Health Science Literature Search ► A guide to help with how to search for desired articles.

 

Database Tutorials

Duquesne offers tutorials on how to effectively search for literature using PubMed and CINAHL. Links are below.

Journals

Gumberg offers access to hundreds of nursing journals. These can be found via BrowZine or can be searched using the traditional E-Journal search in the library catalog. Access a list of nursing journals available at Gumberg here.