LibGuides: Undergraduate Nursing Quick Start Guide: Articles & Databases

Key Databases

CINAHL, Embase, and PubMed are the most commonly used databases for finding articles for nursing research. Each of these databases require logging in via Duquesne Multipass.

CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) This link opens in a new window Indexing for more than 3,000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, this database contains more than 2.9 million records dating back to 1981, as well as complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses’ Association: health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window Elsevier’s ClinicalKey gives you access to quick answers at the point of care alongside trusted, comprehensive medical evidence. It includes clinical overviews, full-text books and journals, drug information, procedure videos, clinical calculators, patient education handouts, practice guidelines, clinical trials, and MEDLINE® citations and abstracts. Physicians can earn and claim CME.
Embase This link opens in a new window Covers the most important international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day and all articles are indexed in depth using Elsevier's Life Science thesaurus Embase Indexing and Emtree®.
PubMed @ Duquesne This link opens in a new window Enables you to connect directly to Gumberg Library holdings via PubMed. PubMed provides access to bibliographic information that includes MEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, as well as the out-of-scope citations from certain MEDLINE journals; citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing; and some additional life science journals that submit full text to PubMedCentral and receive a qualitative review by NLM.

Additional Databases

Nurses will very frequently also consult literature across multiple disciplines including medicine, the physical sciences, and the social sciences. See below for more database resources.

Finding Research Articles

Finding Full Text ► A guide to help you find full text of articles. Note - if you find an article that Gumberg does not offer in full text, please see our resources on requesting articles via interlibrary loan (ILLiad).

Health Science Literature Search ► A guide to help with how to search for desired articles.