Additional Resources

There are many different angles from which a topic can be studied, including yellow fever. Literature studies can examine the ways in which the epidemics influenced contemporary literary works, education can teach about the societal effects of epidemics, and theology, biology and more can all find an application of their own discipline to the topic. Included on this page are databases related to a few more academic disciplines not covered in the subject specific resources tab.

Biology

Here you will find a selection of databases useful for biological research into yellow fever. For additional databases, see the full list of Gumberg Library Biology databases.

PubMed @ Duquesne This link opens in a new window Enables you to connect directly to Gumberg Library holdings via PubMed. PubMed provides access to bibliographic information that includes MEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, as well as the out-of-scope citations from certain MEDLINE journals; citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing; and some additional life science journals that submit full text to PubMedCentral and receive a qualitative review by NLM.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Full text of hundreds of scientific, technical, and medical journals published by Elsevier, Academic Press, and selected additional publishers from 1995 to present, and enables searching of abstracts of articles from more than 3,000 journals.
SciFinder This link opens in a new window Login with your personal username and password to search SciFinder. First Time Users must register before logging in: First time users

Education

Here you will find a selection of resources useful for educational research into yellow fever. For additional databases, see the full list of Gumberg Library Education databases.

Education Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Abstracts and indexing of over 900 education journals, many in full-text to support the study and application of education across all levels of education, including early childhood education, primary and secondary education, and higher education. The database supports global study and research, including thousands of full-text journals, dissertations and other relevant sources.
ERIC - Educational Resources Information Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, this database provides extensive access to educational-related literature, including journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.

National Library of Medicine's Class Resources The National Library of Medicine has compiled lesson plans for teaching about the 1793 outbreak of yellow fever in Philadelphia.

English/Literature

Here you will find a selection of databases useful for literature research into yellow fever. For additional databases, see the full list of Gumberg Library English/Literature databases.

Early American Fiction, 1789-1875 (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window The years 1789–1875 saw the publication of many masterpieces of American fiction, and the Early American Fiction 1789–1875 collection restores the original literary context of these enduring classics, situating the work of canonical writers alongside numerous novels and short stories popular in their own time but now forgotten and largely inaccessible in print form. The collection includes first editions of works by James Fenimore Cooper, Edgar Allan Poe and Nathaniel Hawthorne. Other highlights of the pre–1850 content include William Hill Brown's The Power of Sympathy, which has been recognized as the first American novel, extremely rare items such as the American printing of Susanna Haswell Rowson's Charlotte and Joseph Holt Ingraham's Alice May; or, The Lost of Mount Auburn. Novels and short stories from the third quarter of the nineteenth century include Herman Melville's Moby Dick, Harriet Jacobs's Incidents in the Life of a Slave Girl, Written by Herself, and William Wells Brown's Clotelle, acknowledged as the first published novel by an African American writer.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window Offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, coverage dates back to the 1920s and contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers.
ProQuest One Literature This link opens in a new window For literature scholars who need an exhaustive set of scholarly resources around a literary topic for research and course planning. 500,000 primary works and millions of records from journals, monographs, and dissertations.

Philosophy/Religion

Here you will find a selection of databases useful for Philosophical/religious research into yellow fever. For additional databases, see the full list of Gumberg Library Philosophy/Religion databases.

Philosophy Documentation Center (POIESIS) This link opens in a new window Access to the full text of a growing number of philosophy journals and serials, containing over 2,300 issues and 340,000 pages of text from 53 journals and series, and most of these are not available in electronic format from any other service. Also provides publishing services.
Religion Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Provides a wide range of primarily full-text periodicals and other sources for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of many worldwide religions. As well as scholarly journals there are many titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations. The resource reflects a wide spectrum of religious belief systems and supports the global study of religion.

Related Gumberg Research Guides

Use these guides to further explore these or related topics.

Biological Sciences
by Jo Dienst Last Updated Apr 25, 2024 46 views this year
Coronavirus
by David Nolfi Last Updated Feb 22, 2024 6 views this year
African American Writers
by Ted Bergfelt Last Updated Apr 30, 2024 13 views this year
American Literature: Collected Research Guides
by Ted Bergfelt Last Updated Apr 23, 2024 43 views this year
Theology & Religion: Collected Research Guides
by Ted Bergfelt Last Updated Apr 11, 2024 44 views this year
Philosophy Resources
by Ted Bergfelt Last Updated Feb 22, 2024 64 views this year

History of Yellow Fever