Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Biological Sciences Resources
To find articles, data, or other information, click on the databases listed below:
National Agricultural Library's database of food and plant research.
Biodiversity Heritage Library
Search for biodiversity literature.
Publisher of 265 peer reviewed open access journals. Spans all areas of biology, biomedicine, and medicine. Includes broad interest titles such as BMC Biology alongside specialist journals like BMC Genomics.
A preprint archive for biology papers.
Catalogue of Life
A global species index.
Cell Image Library
The Cell Image Library™ is a freely accessible, easy-to-search, public repository of reviewed and annotated images, videos, and animations of cells from a variety of organisms, showcasing cell architecture, intracellular functionalities, and both normal and abnormal processes.
Cell Press Journals
Cell Press is a leading publisher of cutting-edge biomedical research and reviews, including Cell and other primary research journals.
Encyclopedia of Life
EOL is a database of information and pictures of all species known to science.
Database of Drosophila genes and genomes.
The NIH genetic sequence database.
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
The Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) is a peer reviewed journal that features research in video format so that you can watch experiments.
Map of Life
See species maps, look at all the species in a specific location, and more.
A premier information resource for the basic biological and physical sciences. Provides access to Nature, the Nature research journals and Nature reviews.
Public Library of Science (PLoS)
A non-profit organization founded by a group of biomedical scientists, currently publishes open access biomedical journals.
PubMed @ Duquesne
Enables you to connect directly to Gumberg Library holdings via PubMed. PubMed provides access to bibliographic information that includes MEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, and some additional life science journals that submit full text to PubMedCentral.
Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) databases for journal articles and patent literature.
First time users must register here
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivers a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
The Zebrafish Information Network is a database of reference information for zebrafish researchers.
Try a search using DUQSearch
Suggested topic terms:
- Genome editing
- Developmental biology
- Molecular biology
STEM and Health Sciences Librarian
Biology News from Scientific American
This work by Rebekah Miller is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial license; CC BY-NC 4.0