PubMed @ Duquesne
This link opens in a new windowEnables you to connect directly to Gumberg Library holdings via PubMed. PubMed provides access to bibliographic information that includes MEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, as well as the out-of-scope citations from certain MEDLINE journals; citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing; and some additional life science journals that submit full text to PubMedCentral and receive a qualitative review by NLM.
Embase
This link opens in a new windowCovers the most important international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day and all articles are indexed in depth using Elsevier's Life Science thesaurus Embase Indexing and Emtree®.
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature)
This link opens in a new windowIndexing for more than 3,000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, this database contains more than 2.9 million records dating back to 1981, as well as complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses’ Association: health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters.
Cochrane Library
This link opens in a new windowA collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
Other Databases for Pharmacy Administration
ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest)
This link opens in a new windowSearch nearly 1800 worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more.
APA PsycInfo
This link opens in a new windowCitations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. Coverage spans 1887 to present, including international material selected from more than 2,100 periodicals in more than 25 languages. Produced by the American Psychological Association.
Business Source Premier
This link opens in a new windowThe industry's most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Updated daily.
Healthcare Administration Database (ProQuest)
This link opens in a new windowFind complete, full-text information from leading publications covering all aspects of health administration, including public health and safety, hospitals, finance, personnel management, insurance, population studies, labor relations and law.
Ovid Healthstar
This link opens in a new windowComprised of data from the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) MEDLINE and former HealthSTAR databases, containing citations to the published literature on health services, technology, administration, and research. It focuses on both the clinical and non-clinical aspects of health care delivery.
Scopus
This link opens in a new windowThe largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. indexes content from 24,600 active titles and 5,000 publishers which is rigorously vetted and selected by an independent review board, and uses a rich underlying metadata architecture to connect people, published ideas and institutions.
Measures / Instruments / Tests
APA PsycTests
This link opens in a new windowProfessionally indexed, this database is an extensive collection of psychological measures, scales, surveys, and other instruments essential to the research needs of professionals, students, and educators across the behavioral and social sciences.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI)
This link opens in a new windowProvides ready access to information on measurement instruments (questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science. Please note that HaPI does not include the actual research instruments. See the Mental Measurements Yearbook (Buros) for additional references to research instruments, tests, and assessments.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
This link opens in a new windowProduced by the Buros Center for Testing at the University of Nebraska, MMY provides users with a comprehensive guide to thousands of contemporary testing instruments. Coverage: Volume 1 to current.
ACP Journal Club Archives
This link opens in a new windowA collection of articles and editorials from ACP Journal Club published between January 1991 and April 2008 when it was a bimonthly stand-alone journal. Since May 2008, ACP Journal Club has been published as a monthly feature of Annals of Internal Medicine that summarizes the best new evidence for internal medicine from over 120 clinical journals. Research staff and clinical editors rigorously assess the scientific merit of the medical literature as it is published, and a worldwide panel of over 5000 physicians assesses the clinical relevance and newsworthiness of rigorous studies.
Journals@Ovid - Duquesne
This link opens in a new windowA collection of full text health sciences journals.
SpringerLink
This link opens in a new windowOne of the world's leading interactive databases for high-quality STM journals, book series, books, reference works and the Online Archives Collection.
ScienceDirect
This link opens in a new windowFull text of hundreds of scientific, technical, and medical journals published by Elsevier, Academic Press, and selected additional publishers from 1995 to present, and enables searching of abstracts of articles from more than 3,000 journals.
For a more complete list of journals, try BrowZine. It enables you to create a personal library to stay you up-to-date on the latest publications from more than 100,000 journals.
Additional Resources
Medical Letter [The]
This link opens in a new windowA nonprofit organization that publishes critical appraisals of new prescription drugs and comparative reviews of drugs for common diseases.
Finding Full Text
This guide provides additional information about finding full text from most Gumberg Library databases. Also provides information on how to customize Google Scholar to connect to Gumberg’s journals.
