LibGuides: Transgender and Gender-Nonconforming Populations: Articles, Journals, & Databases

Articles, Journals, & Databases

Below is the link to our full list of databases, as well as some key databases that may be helpful for you to consider when conducting research related to incarceration and the criminal justice system.

Databases A-Z (Opens New Window)

Selected Databases

AM Explorer (formerly Adam Matthew) This link opens in a new window This main portal provides access to millions of pages of primary source collections across the entire portfolio of Adam Matthew Digital, spanning content from the 15th-21st centuries. The individual collections are also listed separately: use the "Vendor/Provider" drop-down menu on the main A-Z list to filter by "Adam Matthew Digital (Sage)" to view all.
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window Citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. Coverage spans 1887 to present, including international material selected from more than 2,100 periodicals in more than 25 languages. Produced by the American Psychological Association.
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA) This link opens in a new window An indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education -- unique in its focus on the practical problems of society and also in that it covers both sociology and psychology.
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) This link opens in a new window Indexing for more than 3,000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, this database contains more than 2.9 million records dating back to 1981, as well as complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses’ Association: health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window Elsevier’s ClinicalKey gives you access to quick answers at the point of care alongside trusted, comprehensive medical evidence. It includes clinical overviews, full-text books and journals, drug information, procedure videos, clinical calculators, patient education handouts, practice guidelines, clinical trials, and MEDLINE® citations and abstracts. Physicians can earn and claim CME.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window In-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day, written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research. Graphics, photos and short "sidebar" features round out the reports. Shorter "Hot Topics" articles provide a solid introduction to subjects most in demand by students. Coverage: 1923 - Present.
Gender: Identity and Social Change This link opens in a new window Essential primary sources documenting the changing representations and lived experiences of gender roles and relations from the nineteenth century to the present. This expansive collection offers sources for the study of women's suffrage, the feminist movement, the men’s movement, employment, education, the body, the family, and government and politics.
PubMed @ Duquesne This link opens in a new window Enables you to connect directly to Gumberg Library holdings via PubMed. PubMed provides access to bibliographic information that includes MEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, as well as the out-of-scope citations from certain MEDLINE journals; citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing; and some additional life science journals that submit full text to PubMedCentral and receive a qualitative review by NLM.
Scopus This link opens in a new window The largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. indexes content from 24,600 active titles and 5,000 publishers which is rigorously vetted and selected by an independent review board, and uses a rich underlying metadata architecture to connect people, published ideas and institutions.
Sociology Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Access to the full-text of more than 310 journals in sociology and social work. This collection provides full-text coverage of many core titles included in Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts.

Full Text Options

This guide explains some of the most frequently used ways to find full text at Duquesne.

Finding Full Text Guide (Opens New Window)

This tool will pop up in many databases and web pages and help you find full text. It takes less than one minute to setup.

See our LibKey Nomad guide (Opens New Window) for more information and help with setup.

Borrow From Other Libraries

There are ways of getting access to materials not available at Duquesne by contacting and borrowing from other libraries (Opens New Window).

When Gumberg doesn’t have an article, you can order it for free electronic delivery using ILLiad.

See our ILLiad Guide (Opens New Window) for more information.