LibGuides: Forensic Science &amp; Law: Articles, Journals & Databases

Articles, Journals, & Databases

Below is the link to our full list of databases, as well as some key databases that may be helpful for you to consider.

Databases A-Z

Databases

Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy This link opens in a new window This is an online set of 330 fully narrated, 3D-rotational gross anatomy videos organized by region (Upper Extremity, Lower Extremity, The Trunk, Head & Neck, Internal Organs). Created by Dr. Robert D. Acland (University of Louisville School of Medicine), the site helps to facilitate understanding or review of human anatomy. Recent enhancements such as self-assessment based on the Practical Exam and the addition of Inner Ear videos further support teaching and learning for faculty, students, practitioners, and patients.
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) This link opens in a new window Indexing for more than 3,000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, this database contains more than 2.9 million records dating back to 1981, as well as complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses’ Association: health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window Elsevier’s ClinicalKey gives you access to quick answers at the point of care alongside trusted, comprehensive medical evidence. It includes clinical overviews, full-text books and journals, drug information, procedure videos, clinical calculators, patient education handouts, practice guidelines, clinical trials, and MEDLINE® citations and abstracts. Physicians can earn and claim CME.
ClinicalKey Student This link opens in a new window ClinicalKey Student enables deeper insights into student performance, personalized feedback and improved student engagement. A multi-purpose learning environment for both faculty and students, where users can assess, study and review in a single platform.
Criminal Justice Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window A comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. Includes U.S. and international scholarly journals, correctional and law enforcement trade publications, dissertations, crime reports, crime blogs and other material relevant for researchers or those preparing for careers in criminal justice, law enforcement and related fields.
Embase This link opens in a new window Covers the most important international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day and all articles are indexed in depth using Elsevier's Life Science thesaurus Embase Indexing and Emtree®.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window A vast collection of law journals, the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and much more.
PubChem This link opens in a new window Provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. It is organized as three linked databases: PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay.
PubMed @ Duquesne This link opens in a new window Enables you to connect directly to Gumberg Library holdings via PubMed. PubMed provides access to bibliographic information that includes MEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, as well as the out-of-scope citations from certain MEDLINE journals; citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing; and some additional life science journals that submit full text to PubMedCentral and receive a qualitative review by NLM.
SciFinder This link opens in a new window Login with your personal username and password to search SciFinder. First Time Users must register before logging in: First time users
Scopus This link opens in a new window The largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. indexes content from 24,600 active titles and 5,000 publishers which is rigorously vetted and selected by an independent review board, and uses a rich underlying metadata architecture to connect people, published ideas and institutions.

Journal Collections

Duquesne affiliates have access to several journals relevant to forensic science & law. See a searchable list of journals at the links below. Additionally, see below for some relevant publishers with accessible collections.

Nature.com This link opens in a new window A collection of journals including "Nature"—the leading international weekly journal of science first published in 1869—as well as selective subject-specific subscription journals including "Nature Genetics" and "Nature Physics" and broad open-access journals such as "Nature Communications and Scientific Reports,"

Science Direct ScienceDirect provides the full text of hundreds of scientific, technical, and medical journals published by Elsevier, Academic Press, and selected additional publishers from 1995 to present, and enables searching of abstracts of articles from more than 3,000 journals.

Science Journals Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Coverage dates back to 1986 and featuring over 1,145 titles—with more than 965 available in full text. In full-text format, researchers have access to all the charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements so vital to scientific and technical literature.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window One of the world's leading interactive databases for high-quality STM journals, book series, books, reference works and the Online Archives Collection.

Full Text Options

This guide explains some of the most frequently used ways to find full text at Duquesne.

Finding Full Text Guide

This tool will pop up in many databases and web pages and help you find full text. It takes less than one minute to setup.

See our LibKey Nomad guide for more information and help with setup.

Borrow From Other Libraries

There are ways of getting access to materials not available at Duquesne by contacting and borrowing from other libraries.

When Gumberg doesn’t have an article, you can order it for free electronic delivery using ILLiad.

See our ILLiad Guide for more information.