LibGuides: Forensic Science &amp; Law: Web Resources

Web Resources

Forensics Resources

The following websites provide helpful background related to forensic science, toxicology, human genomics/DNA, and more.

BioServers (Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory) This site contains user-friendly tools to launch DNA database searches, statistical analyses, and population modeling from a centralized workspace. Educational databases support investigations of an Alu insertion polymorphism on human chromosome 16 and single nucleotide polymorphisms (SNPs) in the human mitochondrial control region.
DNA From The Beginning (Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory) DNA from the Beginning is organized around key concepts. The science behind each concept is explained by: animation, image gallery, video interviews, problem, biographies, and links. This resource is an animated primer of 75 experiments that made modern genetics.
Encyclopedia of DNA Elements (ENCODE) The Encyclopedia of DNA Elements (ENCODE) Consortium is an international collaboration of research groups funded by the National Human Genome Research Institute (NHGRI). The goal of ENCODE is to build a comprehensive parts list of functional elements in the human genome, including elements that act at the protein and RNA levels, and regulatory elements that control cells and circumstances in which a gene is active.
Forensic Resources This compendium outlines an alphabetized list of websites relevant to various forensic subjects related to crime.
GenBank (NCBI) GenBank is the NIH genetic sequence database, an annotated collection of all publicly available DNA sequences.
Human Genome Project Information Archive (1990-2003) HGN chronicled the HGP from 1989 to 2002—facilitating communication among genome researchers and informing the public.
National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) The National Center for Biotechnology Information advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information. This is a division of the National Library of Medicine.
A Simplified Guide to Forensic Toxicology "Toxicology is the study of the adverse effects of chemicals on living organisms. Forensic toxicology takes it a step further, including a number of related disciplines to assist in the detection and interpretation of drugs and poisons in medicolegal death investigations, human performance issues; e.g., driving under the influence, compliance and other related matters."
A Simplified to Forensic Science This website produced by the National Forensic Science Technology Center.
Toxicology Milestones An interactive, educational poster related to the history of toxicology.

Government Resources

See below for US Government and international affiliates relevant to forensics and criminal investigation.

Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) The CIA is a U.S. government agency that provides objective intelligence on foreign countries and global issues to the president, the National Security Council, and other policymakers to help them make national security decisions.
Department of Homeland Security The Department of Homeland Security has a vital mission: to secure the nation from the many threats we face. This requires the dedication of more than 240,000 employees in jobs that range from aviation and border security to emergency response, from cybersecurity analyst to chemical facility inspector. Our duties are wide-ranging, and our goal is clear - keeping America safe.
FBI - Forensic Response The FBI provides a variety of forensic services and capabilities, including crime scene documentation; evidence and hazardous evidence response; investigative/forensic photography and imaging support; scientific, technical, and forensic support for investigations involving chemical, biological, radiological, and nuclear materials; and expertise in health and safety matters.
Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) The basic function of the Freedom of Information Act is to ensure informed citizens, vital to the functioning of a democratic society. You can learn more about making a FOIA request as well as submit a request on this portal.
INTEL Vault The official website of the US Intelligence Community (IC). The INTEL vault allows users to review declassified information relating to US intelligence on international affairs.
INTERPOL "Our full name is the International Criminal Police Organization and we are an inter-governmental organization. We have 195 member countries, and we help police in all of them to work together to make the world a safer place. To do this, we enable them to share and access data on crimes and criminals, and we offer a range of technical and operational support."
National Institute of Justice NIJ is the research, development and evaluation agency of the U.S. Department of Justice.
NIST - Forensic Science The National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) is working to strengthen forensic practice through research and improved standards relevant to science, policy, and practice.
US Department of Justice - Forensic Science Forensic science is a critical element of the criminal justice system. Forensic scientists examine and analyze evidence from crime scenes and elsewhere to develop objective findings that can assist in the investigation and prosecution of perpetrators of crime or absolve an innocent person from suspicion.

Legal Resources

These sites provide additional information relevant to legal issues and criminal justice.

Crime Scene Investigator Network (CSIN) This site includes information relevant to guidelines for crime scene response, evidence collection, photography from crime scenes, and other resources.
The Innocence Project The Innocence Project works to free the innocent, prevent wrongful convictions, and create fair, compassionate, and equitable systems of justice for everyone.
National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) The National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) is the place to discover, access, and analyze data on crime and justice. NACJD hosts several large-scale datasets, including the National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS), the FBI's Uniform Crime Reports (UCR), the FBI's National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS), and the Project on Human Development in Chicago Neighborhoods (PHDCN).