German Catholic Church, Allegheny City, PA (Northside), 1857
Image source: Wikimedia Commons, in the public domain
On this page you will find citations that deal the the general history of the Catholic church in Pittsburgh and Western Pennsylvania. All are available at the Gumberg Library, Duquesne University. Materials in the "Spiritan Collection" and the "University Archives" must be used in the library.
Catholic Historical Society of Western Pennsylvania. Catholic Pittsburgh's One Hundred Years, A Symposium...Chicago: Loyola UP, 1943. Call number: BX1417 .P6 C3 Location: 3rd floor & University Archives (1st floor)
_____. From the Point to the Present: The Catholic Church in Pittsburgh. Pittsburgh, PA: CARTA for the Diocese of Pittsburgh, 1959. Call number: BX1417 .P6 F76 1959x Location: University Archives (1st floor)
Chepponis, James, Fred Molech and Cynthis Serja. From Organist to Pastoral Musician: A History of Church Music in the Catholic Diocese of Pittsburgh, 1843-2006. Pittsburgh, PA: Diocese of Pittsburgh, 2006. Call number: ML3011.8 .P6 C45 2006x Location: 5th floor (Music Collection)
Heineman, Kenneth J. A Catholic New Deal: Religion and Reform in Depression Pittsburgh. University Park, PA: Penn State UP, 1999. Call number: HD6338.2 .U52 P574 1999 Location: 3rd floor
James, Mary D. CCD--An Expression of Ministry: A History of the Confraternity of Christian Doctrine in the Diocese of Pittsburgh. 1985. Call number: BV1469 .P57 J35 1985 Location: University Archives (1st floor)
Kelly Timothy I. The Transformation of American Catholicism: The Pittsburgh Laity and the Second Vatican Council, 1950-1972. Notre Dame, IN: University of Notre Dame, 2009. Call number: BX1417 .P5 K45 2009 Location: 3rd floor
Knochel, Mary Ann. Roman Catholic Diocese of Pittsburgh. Charleston, SC: Arcadia Pub., 2007. Call number: BX1417 .P6 K596 2007x Locations: 3rd floor & University Archives (1st floor)
Lambing, Andrew A. A History of the Catholic Church in the Diocese of Pittsburg and Allegheny from its Establishment to the Present Time. New York: Benzinger Brothers, 1880. Call number: BX1415 .P6 L3 Locations: University Archives (1st floor) & Spiritan Collection (3rd floor)
Lambing, Andrew A. Register of Fort Duquesne, 1754-1756. Catholic Historical Society of Western Pennsylvania, 2004. Call number: F159 .p6 L3 2004x Location: 3rd floor
See an earlier edition of Register of Fort Duquesne, 1754-1756 online
Lanham, Leo. The Missionary Confraternity of Christian Doctrine in the Diocese of Pittsburgh. Ph.D. Dissertation, Catholic University of America, 1985. Call number: BV2300 .M4 L3x Location: 3rd floor
Official Directory of the Dioccese of Pittsburgh. Pittsburgh, PA: Pittsburgh Catholic. Call number: BX1417 .P6 O35x Location: University Archives (1st floor) & Oversized (1st floor)
Witt, Sally A. Hell Was Not Made for Us: Father James R. Cox and the Catholic Church in Pittsburgh in the 1940s. M.A. Thesis, Duquesne University, 1989. Location Duq Thesis Hist 96 (1st floor)
See this thesis online (Multipass username and password required for off-campus access)
Wuerl, Donald W. Post Decem Annos: A History of the Tridentine Mass in the Diocese of Pittsburgh on the Tenth Anniversary of the Implementation of Ecclesia Dei. Pittsburgh, PA: Holy Wisdom Latin Mass Community, 1999. Call number: BX2230.5 .W87 1999x Location: University Archives (1st floor)
Coat of Arms of the Diocese of Pittsburgh
Image source: Wikimedia Commons; created by Alekjds, used under a Creative Commons Attribution 1.0 Generic license
