LibGuides: Doctor of Pharmacy: Articles, Databases & Journals

Articles, Databases & Journals

Use the following recommended databases to aid your research and find academic articles and literature reviews.

Databases

Professional pharmacists can work within many, varied environments. The following databases have been selected to help users navigate through research about these different contexts.

AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new window Provides access to pharmacy textbooks, videos, games, cases, Q&A, NAPLEX review, and other resources that support pharmacy students as well as practicing pharmacists.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window Elsevier’s ClinicalKey gives you access to quick answers at the point of care alongside trusted, comprehensive medical evidence. It includes clinical overviews, full-text books and journals, drug information, procedure videos, clinical calculators, patient education handouts, practice guidelines, clinical trials, and MEDLINE® citations and abstracts. Physicians can earn and claim CME.
PubMed @ Duquesne This link opens in a new window Enables you to connect directly to Gumberg Library holdings via PubMed. PubMed provides access to bibliographic information that includes MEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, as well as the out-of-scope citations from certain MEDLINE journals; citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing; and some additional life science journals that submit full text to PubMedCentral and receive a qualitative review by NLM.
Embase This link opens in a new window Covers the most important international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day and all articles are indexed in depth using Elsevier's Life Science thesaurus Embase Indexing and Emtree®.

Drug Information

International Journal of Pharmaceutical Compounding This link opens in a new window A bi-monthly, scientific and professional journal emphasizing quality pharmaceutical compounding.
UpToDate Lexidrug This link opens in a new window Select Medical View when you login. Contains full text drug information resources and other health care information.
Micromedex Healthcare Series This link opens in a new window A wide range of clinical databases, including unbiased, referenced information about drugs, toxicology, diseases, acute care, and alternative medicine.
Medical Letter [The] This link opens in a new window A nonprofit organization that publishes critical appraisals of new prescription drugs and comparative reviews of drugs for common diseases.

Healthcare Administration

CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) This link opens in a new window Indexing for more than 3,000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, this database contains more than 2.9 million records dating back to 1981, as well as complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses’ Association: health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters.
Healthcare Administration Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Find complete, full-text information from leading publications covering all aspects of health administration, including public health and safety, hospitals, finance, personnel management, insurance, population studies, labor relations and law.
Ovid Healthstar This link opens in a new window Comprised of data from the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) MEDLINE and former HealthSTAR databases, containing citations to the published literature on health services, technology, administration, and research. It focuses on both the clinical and non-clinical aspects of health care delivery.

Social Sciences

Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA) This link opens in a new window An indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education -- unique in its focus on the practical problems of society and also in that it covers both sociology and psychology.
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window Citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. Coverage spans 1887 to present, including international material selected from more than 2,100 periodicals in more than 25 languages. Produced by the American Psychological Association.
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Records published by Sociological Abstracts in print during the database's first 11 years, 1952-1962, have been added to the database as of November 2005, extending the depth of the backfile of this authoritative resource.

Additional Databases

Photo by Gustavo Fring Photo by cottonbro studio Photo by fauxels

Full Text Options

This guide explains some of the most frequently used ways to find full text at Duquesne.

Finding Full Text Guide

This tool will pop up in many databases and web pages and help you find full text. It takes less than one minute to setup.

See our LibKey Nomad guide for more information and help with setup.

Borrow From Other Libraries

There are ways of getting access to materials not available at Duquesne by contacting and borrowing from other libraries.

When Gumberg doesn’t have an article, you can order it for free electronic delivery using ILLiad.

See our ILLiad Guide for more information.