LibGuides: Doctor of Pharmacy: Tools for Patient Care

Tools for Patient Care

Clinical pharmacists both within and outside of the hospital setting will be responsible for direct patient care. The following resources can be used to support prescription and treatment duties.

CareNotes System This link opens in a new window Concise, easy-to-understand information relating to standard treatments for a variety of diseases and conditions. CareNotes cover general information on the nature of the disease/condition, possible causes, signs and symptoms, and standard means of care and support. CareNotes information also helps meet JCAHO and OBRA '90 patient education guidelines.
ECRI Guidelines Trust This link opens in a new window This interactive guideline portal puts current, evidence-based clinical practice guideline summaries directly into the hands of clinicians, researchers, medical librarians, and patients. Created by the same team that developed and maintained the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality's National Guideline Clearinghouse™ for more than 20 years.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) This link opens in a new window Provides ready access to information on measurement instruments (questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science. Please note that HaPI does not include the actual research instruments. See the Mental Measurements Yearbook (Buros) for additional references to research instruments, tests, and assessments.
Isabel This link opens in a new window Isabel is a differential diagnosis generator designed to aid clinicians’ decision-making, covering more than 10,000 conditions and links to other clinical databases. For mobile access: (1) Login to Isabel (through this page) using your desktop or laptop computer (2) Click "Mobile Access (3) Note the Isabel UserID and Password (4) From your mobile device, go the Gumberg Research databases and login using your MultiPass credentials (5) Click Login (6) Enter your Isabel UserID and Password PLEASE NOTE: the mobile version will not allow you to view cases shared by professors.
Medical Letter [The] This link opens in a new window A nonprofit organization that publishes critical appraisals of new prescription drugs and comparative reviews of drugs for common diseases.
Micromedex Healthcare Series This link opens in a new window A wide range of clinical databases, including unbiased, referenced information about drugs, toxicology, diseases, acute care, and alternative medicine.
PsychiatryOnline This link opens in a new window A powerful web-based portal that features DSM-V, the most widely used psychiatric reference in the world and The American Journal of Psychiatry as the cornerstones of an unsurpassed collection of psychiatric references from American Psychiatric Publishing, Inc., the most trusted and respected name in psychiatric publishing.

Patient Education Resources

Patients who wish to learn more about their treatments and medication can be directed to the following consumer-friendly resources.

AHFS Consumer Medication Information This link opens in a new window Published by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, includes more than a thousand drug information monographs written in lay language for consumers. Updated monthly.
Consumer Health Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Covers an enormous range of subjects of value in the public library context - from sports injuries to women's health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry. It includes important general medical journals such as The Lancet and The New England Journal of Medicine as well as a strong selection of consumer and news magazines.