LibGuides: Theology & Catholic Studies Resources: Welcome!

Title box

To access any electronic resource, including DUQSearch, ebooks, or databases, you will need to enter your Multipass information when prompted

Research Guides

Reference Works

Individual reference works, print and electronic, can be found by searching the DUQSearch online catalog

Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Each Handbook offers thorough introductions to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship, creating an original conception of the field and setting the agenda for new research. Handbook articles review the key issues and cutting-edge debates, as well as providing arguments for how those debates might evolve.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Includes electronic editions of a wide range of Oxford's award-winning scholarly encyclopedias and reference titles.
Very Short Introductions (Oxford University Press) This link opens in a new window
Concise introductions to a diverse range of subject areas. Duquesne has subscriptions to the following modules: "VSI Art & Humanities", "VSI Social Science", "VSI Medicine & Health", "VSI Science & Mathematics" and "VSI Law"

Find Books

How to Use the DUQSearch Online Catalog to Find Print and Ebooks in Any Discipline

Find Articles: Subject-Specific Databases for Theology

Atla Religion This link opens in a new window
The premier index for journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion, with coverage from 1949 and retrospective indexing for several journal issues as far back as the nineteenth century. Journals are selected for inclusion according to their scholarly merit and scope.
New Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This database, an indispensable research and bibliographic aid for scholars, librarians, clergy, and students of the New Testament and its historical milieu, contains more than 44,000 article abstracts, 1,200 review abstracts, 16,500 book abstracts, and 50 software abstracts.
Old Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This database features indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-author works, and software related to Old Testament studies. Content from over 450 journals is covered. All abstracts are in English, regardless of the language of the original work. Topics covered include antiquities, archaeology, biblical theology, philology and much more. Coverage in the database dates back to 1978.
Religion Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides a wide range of primarily full-text periodicals and other sources for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of many worldwide religions. As well as scholarly journals there are many titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations. The resource reflects a wide spectrum of religious belief systems and supports the global study of religion.

Find Articles: General Databases Covering Theology

Academic Search Elite (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Offers full text for more than 2,000 serials, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. This multi-disciplinary database covers virtually every area of academic study. More than 100 journals have PDF images back to 1985.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Broadly search for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, pre-print repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A reliable and comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature, including searchable and browsable tables of contents and full text articles from both multidisciplinary and discipline-specific journal collections.
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
An archive with backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences that provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of titles. The database spans more than two centuries of content, 37 key subject areas, and multiple languages.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Provides 100% full-text access to over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
The largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. indexes content from 24,600 active titles and 5,000 publishers which is rigorously vetted and selected by an independent review board, and uses a rich underlying metadata architecture to connect people, published ideas and institutions.

Other Specialized Databases in Theology

Atla Digital Library
The Atla Digital Library brings together in a singular, searchable platform digitized collections from libraries, religious institutions, and other organizations worldwide who collect and preserve texts, records, maps, photographs, recordings, and other materials.
Open Access Digital Theological Library

Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible (OEB) Digital Collection (formerly Oxford Biblical Studies Online) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive resource for the study of the Bible and biblical history, offering a ready access point for a wealth of Bible text and commentary—including the New Oxford Annotated Bible and five other popular Oxford Study Bibles

Primary Sources

Acta Sanctorum This link opens in a new window
Contains the text of the 68 printed volumes of published in Antwerp and Brussels by the Societe des Bollandistes from the two January volumes published in 1643 to the Propylaeum to December published in 1940. Also includes several indices.

Atla Digital Library
The Atla Digital Library brings together in a singular, searchable platform digitized collections from libraries, religious institutions, and other organizations worldwide who collect and preserve texts, records, maps, photographs, recordings, and other materials.

Early English Books Online [EEBO] (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
From the first book published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare, this incomparable collection now contains more than 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement.
Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window
More than 520 volumes of Latin and Greek texts translated to English and available in a searchable format. Content includes, epic and lyric poetry, tragedy and comedy, history, travel, philosophy, and oratory among others.
Past Masters This link opens in a new window
This series encompasses the largest collection of primary source full-text electronic editions in philosophy in the world. The series includes significant collections in the history of political thought and theory, religious studies, education, German studies, sociology, the history and philosophy of science, economics, and classics. Includes the works of Anselm, Aquinas, Augustine, Berkeley, Calvin, Kant, Kiergegard, Plato, and Wittgenstein among others.
Patrologiae Graecae This link opens in a new window
The electronic version of Migne's Patrologiae Graecae contains more than 160 volumes of Greek material (with Latin translations) relevant to the study of the history of the Christian Church from its beginnings through the Council of Florence in 1439.
Patrologia Latina Database This link opens in a new window
This database is an electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina, published between 1844 and 1855, and the four volumes of indexes published between 1862 and 1865. Includes the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216, also includes the complete Patrologia Latina, including all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indexes, as well as Migne's column numbers, essential references for scholars.
Project Perseus This link opens in a new window
Covers the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world.
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) This link opens in a new window
**Please note you will have to create a unique account on TLG to access content. **
Digitized literary texts written in Greek from Homer to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453.

Dissertations

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) Global This link opens in a new window

research process

Arts & Humanities Research Process

Check to see if there is a research guide on your topic. These will quickly connect you to all the most important resources on your topic. To see the research guides supporting Theology and Catholic Studies, look in the main box to the left.

If there is no research guide, then follow these steps:

1. Start with Reference Works to get background information and basic facts, also to see your broad topic broken into subtopics, one of which you might choose to use in narrowing your topic.

2. Search DUQSearch for books. Books are time-saving devises that gather, summarize, and synthesize the contents of hundreds of other books and articles and present this content conveniently for your use. Use the table of content and index to get to the specific information you need.

3. Use databases, general and subject-specific, to find articles, which will supplement the information from the books, providing you with the more recent information from researchers and journalists.

need help ted

Need Help?

Ted Bergfelt, MLS

Humanities Librarian

Liaison to the Department of Theology

Phone: 412-396-5351

Email: bergfeltt@duq.edu

Theology & Catholic Studies Resources: Welcome!