This guide is designed to connect Duquesne University researchers to reference works on many aspects of Catholicism. Articles from reference works (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, manuals, atlases, almanacs, etc.) are great for quickly learning basic facts on a topic. Their content is usually more authortiative than material found searching the Internet.
Catholic Q and A: Answers to the Most Common Questions About Catholicism by 
The Modern Catholic Encyclopedia by 
New Catholic Encyclopedia, 2nd Edition by 
The Jerome Biblical Commentary for the Twenty-First Century by 
The Catholic Bible Concordance: Revised Standard Version by 
The Collegeville Pastoral Dictionary of Biblical Theology by 
Dictionary of Catholic Devotions by 
Encyclopedia of Catholic Devotions and Practices by 
The New Dictionary of Catholic Spirituality by 
Catholic Schools in the United States: An Encyclopedia by 
International Handbook of Catholic Education by 
Handbook of Research on Catholic Higher Education by 
Historical Dictionary of Catholicism, 2nd Edition by 
Our Sunday Visitor's Encyclopedia of Catholic History by 
The Encyclopedia of American Catholic History by 
Butler's Lives of the Saints
The Directory of Saints: A Concise Guide to Patron Saints by 
Theotokos: A Theological Encyclopedia of the Blessed Virgin by 
Encyclopedia of the Vatican and Papacy by 
The Great Popes Through History: An Encyclopedia by 
The Oxford Dictionary of Popes by 
The Papacy: An Encyclopedia by 
Catholic Religious Orders; Listing Conventional and Full Names... by 
A Dictionary of Religious Orders by 
Companion to the Compendium of the Social Doctrine of the Church by 
Encyclopedia of Catholic Social Thought, Social Science, and Social Policy by 
The New Dictionary of Catholic Social Thought by 
Ecclesia; A Theological Dictionary of the Church by Following Christ: A Handbook of Catholic Moral Teaching by 
Handbook of Catholic Theology by 
Our Sunday Visitor Encyclopedia of Ctaholic Doctrine by 
St. Mary's Press Glossary of Theological Terms by 
