LibGuides: Special Education: Finding Articles

Finding Articles

Gumberg Library offers access to numerous databases. The list below outlines several different databases that may be relevant to Special Education. For even more options, check out our A-Z Databases list.

Education Databases

Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window Weekly news and job-information source for college and university faculty members, administrators, and students. OFF CAMPUS: 1. Go to Chronicle.com and click on the “Log In” link at top, right-hand side of the web page. 2. Sign In with your Duquesne University email if already registered. If not already registered, Choose the “Create an account now” option. 3. Enter and confirm your duq.edu email address, then follow the steps on the account set-up pages.
Education Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Abstracts and indexing of over 900 education journals, many in full-text to support the study and application of education across all levels of education, including early childhood education, primary and secondary education, and higher education. The database supports global study and research, including thousands of full-text journals, dissertations and other relevant sources.
ERIC - Educational Resources Information Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, this database provides extensive access to educational-related literature, including journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window Produced by the Buros Center for Testing at the University of Nebraska, MMY provides users with a comprehensive guide to thousands of contemporary testing instruments. Coverage: Volume 1 to current.
Physical Education Index (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Abstracts featuring a wide variety of content, ranging from physical education curricula, to sports medicine, to dance. Other coverage includes sport law, kinesiology, motor learning, recreation, standardized fitness tests, sports equipment, business and marketing, coaching and training, and sport sociology/psychology.

APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window Citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. Coverage spans 1887 to present, including international material selected from more than 2,100 periodicals in more than 25 languages. Produced by the American Psychological Association.
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA) This link opens in a new window An indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education -- unique in its focus on the practical problems of society and also in that it covers both sociology and psychology.
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Records published by Sociological Abstracts in print during the database's first 11 years, 1952-1962, have been added to the database as of November 2005, extending the depth of the backfile of this authoritative resource.

Full Text Options

Finding Full Text Guide

This guide explains some of the most frequently used ways to find full text at Duquesne.

LibKey Nomad Guide

This tool will pop up in many databases and web pages and help you find full text. It takes less than one minute to setup.

After you do your search, you might find an article that looks relevant for your paper (the title or abstract would help you to determine this). For many articles, there will be links displayed below the item's title to show if there are full text options (or if it is available as a PDF).

See below for an example.

Clicking the "LibKey Instant PDF" will open that article in a new tab of your browser as a PDF for easy reading. If there isn't a PDF available, check out "Full Text Finder" to see if there is a free full text option available to you!

Borrow from Other Libraries

There are ways of getting access to materials not available at Duquesne by contacting and borrowing from other libraries.

When Gumberg doesn’t have an article, you can order it for free using ILLiad. ILLiad is integrated into the other full text finding tool. You can also request the library to Scan & Deliver the printed journal article at Gumberg.

See our ILLiad Guide for more information.

Special Education

Finding Articles

Education Databases

Related

Full Text Options

Borrow from Other Libraries