LibGuides: Medicine @ Duq : Articles, Journals, & Databases

Articles, Journals, & Databases

Below is the link to our full list of databases, as well as some key databases that may be helpful for you to consider.

Databases A-Z

Databases

This list shows some of the most commonly used databases for medical research. For more options, see the Medicine Databases or go to Databases A-Z to see the full list.

PubMed @ Duquesne This link opens in a new window Enables you to connect directly to Gumberg Library holdings via PubMed. PubMed provides access to bibliographic information that includes MEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, as well as the out-of-scope citations from certain MEDLINE journals; citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing; and some additional life science journals that submit full text to PubMedCentral and receive a qualitative review by NLM.
Embase This link opens in a new window Covers the most important international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day and all articles are indexed in depth using Elsevier's Life Science thesaurus Embase Indexing and Emtree®.
ACP Journal Club This link opens in a new window ACP Journal Club helps you stay current with the latest evidence-based clinical information relevant to internal medicine and its subspecialties. Reviewing over 120 leading medical journals, this monthly feature in Annals of Internal Medicine contains an editorial, easy to read abstracts, and a page of other notable articles.
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window Citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. Coverage spans 1887 to present, including international material selected from more than 2,100 periodicals in more than 25 languages. Produced by the American Psychological Association.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window A collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
OSTMED.DR (Osteopathic Medical Digital Repository) This link opens in a new window OSTMED.DR® is an osteopathic medicine digital library created by a partnership between Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine (VCOM) and VTLS, Inc. in 2006. OSTMED.DR® builds upon OSTMED®, a bibliographic index to the literature of osteopathic medicine. The goal of the project is to promote and facilitate research and scholarly activity in the osteopathic profession by providing ready access to the current osteopathic literature and heretofore hard to find resources, including historical documents. Be cautioned that some of the historical content may not be good science but is of value as a record of the history of osteopathic medicine. Determining the evidence value of content is the responsibility of the database user/researcher.
PsychiatryOnline This link opens in a new window A powerful web-based portal that features DSM-V, the most widely used psychiatric reference in the world and The American Journal of Psychiatry as the cornerstones of an unsurpassed collection of psychiatric references from American Psychiatric Publishing, Inc., the most trusted and respected name in psychiatric publishing.
Scopus This link opens in a new window The largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. indexes content from 24,600 active titles and 5,000 publishers which is rigorously vetted and selected by an independent review board, and uses a rich underlying metadata architecture to connect people, published ideas and institutions.

Journals

Duquesne affiliates have access to thousands of journals!

Full Text Options

Finding Full Text
This guide explains the most frequently used ways to find full text at Duquesne.

LibKey Nomad
Once installed, this browser extension pops up in many databases and web pages to help you find full text. It takes less than one minute to install and get started.

Borrow From Other Libraries

ILLiad
When Gumberg does not have a journal article you need, order it for free using ILLiad. PDFs are typically delivered in 1-2 days.
EZBorrow
If Gumberg does not have a book you need, order it for free using EZBorrow. Books are typically delivered in 4-5 work days.