The following tools can be helfpul to students, staff, and faculty for locating information related to dual diagnosis, drug interactions, and other necessary clinical knowledge.
Acland's Video Atlas of Human AnatomyThis link opens in a new windowThis is an online set of 330 fully narrated, 3D-rotational gross anatomy videos organized by region (Upper Extremity, Lower Extremity, The Trunk, Head & Neck, Internal Organs). Created by Dr. Robert D. Acland (University of Louisville School of Medicine), the site helps to facilitate understanding or review of human anatomy. Recent enhancements such as self-assessment based on the Practical Exam and the addition of Inner Ear videos further support teaching and learning for faculty, students, practitioners, and patients.
Bates' Visual Guide to Physical ExaminationThis link opens in a new windowBates’ Visual Guide to Physical Examination is Lippincott's online platform for the delivery of more than 8 hours of video content that provides head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for the Advanced Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course, or for practitioners requiring a review of the History & Physical. The subscription gives you anytime, anywhere access from your computer, smartphone, or tablet device.
ClinicalKeyThis link opens in a new windowElsevier’s ClinicalKey gives you access to quick answers at the point of care alongside trusted, comprehensive medical evidence. It includes clinical overviews, full-text books and journals, drug information, procedure videos, clinical calculators, patient education handouts, practice guidelines, clinical trials, and MEDLINE® citations and abstracts. Physicians can earn and claim CME.
Clinical Practice GuidelinesClinical practice guidelines (also called CPGs, guidelines, and practice guidelines) are statements that include recommendations intended to optimize patient care.
Cochrane LibraryThis link opens in a new windowA collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
Critical Appraisal ToolsCritical appraisal is the process of carefully and systematically examining research to judge its trustworthiness, and its value/relevance in a particular context by providing a framework to evaluate the research.
EBM PyramidThis visually-oriented guide allows you to click through the EBM (Evidence Based Medicine) pyramid segments to find relevant sources.
ECRI Guidelines TrustThis link opens in a new windowThis interactive guideline portal puts current, evidence-based clinical practice guideline summaries directly into the hands of clinicians, researchers, medical librarians, and patients. Created by the same team that developed and maintained the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality's National Guideline Clearinghouse™ for more than 20 years.
IsabelThis link opens in a new windowIsabel is a differential diagnosis generator designed to aid clinicians’ decision-making, covering more than 10,000 conditions and links to other clinical databases.
For mobile access:
(1) Login to Isabel (through this page) using your desktop or laptop computer
(2) Click "Mobile Access
(3) Note the Isabel UserID and Password
(4) From your mobile device, go the Gumberg Research databases and login using your MultiPass credentials
(5) Click Login
(6) Enter your Isabel UserID and Password
PLEASE NOTE: the mobile version will not allow you to view cases shared by professors.
JAMAEvidence - McGraw-HillThis link opens in a new windowJAMAevidence is an online medical resource helping decision-makers to identify the best available evidence. It provides students, residents, fellows, and clinicians with essential content from Users' Guides to the Medical Literature: A Manual for Evidence-Based Clinical Practice, 3e, The Rational Clinical Examination: Evidence-Based Clinical Diagnosis, and Care at the Close of Life: Evidence and Experience.
NEJM Resident 360This link opens in a new windowProvides information to help residents and students successfully navigate their training with foundational clinical knowledge, career insights, and support, from Rotation Prep to interactive teaching and learning tools.
UpToDateThis link opens in a new windowLogin with your UpToDate username and password. First Time Users must register before logging in. See the
