LibGuides: Sociology Resources: Find Articles

Using the Library to Find Articles

Gumberg Library offers many databases and E-Journals related to Sociology and its many sub-disciplines. On the Gumberg Library website, select E-Journals under the search box to search for specific journal titles within the E-Journal collection. Individual databases must be searched separately, and can be found on the main library page via the Research Databases link.

You may begin your article search in DUQSearch or a research database with keywords (e.g. conflict resolution, peace-building, or international relations). Then you can limit your search results to peer reviewed journal articles by selecting the limit on the left side of the screen.

Example from DUQSearch:

Resources for Finding Full Text

Browzine
BrowZine is able to show you Gumberg Library's electronic journals and articles.
After selecting a journal, you can sort through available issues by year of publication, volume, and issue.
If you create an account, you can save journals to your own library for quick access at a later point in time.
eJournals
Search via traditional E-journal search, or do a more advanced search with Browzine.
Finding Full Text
This guide will help users find full text articles from a number of resources.
LibKey Nomad
LibKey Nomad is an internet browser extension. It facilitates finding full text articles.

Sociology Databases

ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts

Sociology, Gender Studies, and Cultural Studies Journals subset of the SAGE Journals database
SAGE Social Work & Social Policy Journals subset of the SAGE Journals database

Social Sciences Databases

America: History and Life
Published since 1964, the definitive bibliographic reference covering the history, culture, area studies, and current affairs literature of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Content Includes indexing for over 1,800 journals from 1895 to the present; citations and links to books and media reviews; coverage for some titles goes back to the 19th and early 20th centuries.
Annual Reviews
Find primary research literature and identify the principal contributions in more than 45 scientific disciplines. Publications are among the highest cited publications by impact factor according to the Journal Citation Reports® published by Thomson Reuters.
APA PsycArticles
A definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains more than 100,000 articles from 59 journals - 48 published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and 11 from allied organizations. It includes all journal articles, letters to the editor and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to present.
APA PsycInfo
Citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. Coverage spans 1887 to present, including international material selected from more than 2,100 periodicals in more than 25 languages. Produced by the American Psychological Association.
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA)
An indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education -- unique in its focus on the practical problems of society and also in that it covers both sociology and psychology.
CQ Researcher
In-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day, written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research. Graphics, photos and short "sidebar" features round out the reports. Shorter "Hot Topics" articles provide a solid introduction to subjects most in demand by students. Coverage: 1923 - Present.
JSTOR
A reliable and comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature, including searchable and browsable tables of contents and full text articles from both multidisciplinary and discipline-specific journal collections.
National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER)
A private, non-profit, non-partisan organization founded in 1929 dedicated to conducting economic research and to disseminating research findings among academics, public policy makers, and business professionals. Key focus areas include developing new statistical measurements, estimating quantitative models of economic behavior, and analyzing the effects of public policies.
Periodicals Archive Online
An archive with backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences that provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of titles. The database spans more than two centuries of content, 37 key subject areas, and multiple languages.
Project Muse
Provides 100% full-text access to over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.
Psychology Database (ProQuest)
Provides abstracts and indexing for more than 575 titles, with over 485 titles available in full text. Users get access to charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements essential to psychological research. In addition to clinical and social psychology, it also provides coverage of related disciplines including genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, and more. A number of the titles are heavily cited and have a strong set of ISI impact factors.
SAGE Journals
An online collection of SAGE journals that cover a wide array of interdisciplinary subject areas including business, humanities, social science, and science, technology and medicine.
ScienceDirect
Full text of hundreds of scientific, technical, and medical journals published by Elsevier, Academic Press, and selected additional publishers from 1995 to present, and enables searching of abstracts of articles from more than 3,000 journals.
Scopus
The largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. indexes content from 24,600 active titles and 5,000 publishers which is rigorously vetted and selected by an independent review board, and uses a rich underlying metadata architecture to connect people, published ideas and institutions.
Social Science Database (ProQuest)
Offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest)
Provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Records published by Sociological Abstracts in print during the database's first 11 years, 1952-1962, have been added to the database as of November 2005, extending the depth of the backfile of this authoritative resource.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (ProQuest)
The database provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy.

Request an Article Electronically

Article not available at Gumberg?

You can request an article at no cost. Make your electronic requests through ILLIAD.