LibGuides: Sociology Resources: The Self in Social Context

Assignment prompt

Prompt: How do Georg Simmel, G.H. Mead, Charles Cooley, Ida B. Wells, Charlotte Gilman and/or W.E.B. DuBois describe the sociological nature of the self? How does the “individual” relate to society in their theories? Compare and/or contrast two of these theorists’ ideas on how human individuals respond to, and are shaped by society/social contexts. Locate and quote passages from and least three (3) independently researched scholarly sources.

Authoritative Background Sources--not peer reviewed

Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology [The]
Over 2000 articles on materials that have historically defined the discipline, but also more recent developments, significantly updating the store of sociological knowledge; includes introductions to sociological theories and research that have developed outside of the United States and Western Europe.
SAGE Knowledge
Look for the Encyclopedia of Social Theory.
Very Short Introductions (Oxford University Press)
Concise introductions to a diverse range of subject areas.

Sources for Finding Peer Reviewed Articles

Academic Search Elite (EBSCO)
Offers full text for more than 2,000 serials, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. This multi-disciplinary database covers virtually every area of academic study. More than 100 journals have PDF images back to 1985.
JSTOR
A reliable and comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature, including searchable and browsable tables of contents and full text articles from both multidisciplinary and discipline-specific journal collections.
Social Science Database (ProQuest)
Offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest)
Provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Records published by Sociological Abstracts in print during the database's first 11 years, 1952-1962, have been added to the database as of November 2005, extending the depth of the backfile of this authoritative resource.
SAGE Journals
An online collection of SAGE journals that cover a wide array of interdisciplinary subject areas including business, humanities, social science, and science, technology and medicine.

Sociology, Gender Studies, and Cultural Studies Journals subset of the SAGE Journals database

SAGE Social Work & Social Policy Journals subset of the SAGE Journals database

Peer Review in 3 Minutes

From NCSU Libraries. Creative Commons 3.0 BY-NC-SA US license

Helpful Searching Guides and Tools

DUQSearch
by Licia Slimon Last Updated Nov 11, 2024 145 views this year
Finding Full Text
by David Nolfi Last Updated Oct 14, 2024 717 views this year
LibKey Nomad
by David Nolfi Last Updated Oct 14, 2024 280 views this year

Citation Help

APA 7th Edition
by David Nolfi Last Updated Jan 29, 2025 1246 views this year

Chicago Manual of Style
17th edition with more than one hundred new sections of advice responding to changes and developments in everything from technology and source materials to grammar and usage.

MLA Citation Help
by Maureen Diana Sasso Last Updated Nov 12, 2024 197 views this year

Quick Tips for ASA Style

Research Assistance

Welcome to Ask Gumberg!

Other ways to contact us:
  Email Us: ask@duq.libanswers.com
  Call Us: 412-396-6133
  Text Us: 412-265-3599
  Make An Appointment
  Find a Subject Librarian