This guide is designed to support students and faculty in Duquesne University’s Pharmaceutics graduate programs. It brings together selected relevant Gumberg Library resources and additional websites.
SciFinderThis link opens in a new windowLogin with your personal username and password to search SciFinder. First Time Users must register before logging in: First time users
ScopusThis link opens in a new windowThe largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. indexes content from 24,600 active titles and 5,000 publishers which is rigorously vetted and selected by an independent review board, and uses a rich underlying metadata architecture to connect people, published ideas and institutions.
PubMed @ DuquesneThis link opens in a new windowEnables you to connect directly to Gumberg Library holdings via PubMed. PubMed provides access to bibliographic information that includes MEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, as well as the out-of-scope citations from certain MEDLINE journals; citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing; and some additional life science journals that submit full text to PubMedCentral and receive a qualitative review by NLM.
PubMed @ Duquesne Tutorial VideoThis video explains how to access PubMed @ Duquesne, how to conduct a search, use filters, and find full text.
EmbaseThis link opens in a new windowCovers the most important international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day and all articles are indexed in depth using Elsevier's Life Science thesaurus Embase Indexing and Emtree®.
Embase PICO Tutorial VideoThis video demos how to use the Embase PICO tool, an intuitive way to create effective search strategies.
Compendex - Engineering VillageThis link opens in a new windowComprised of journals, conference proceedings, dissertations, standards, books, and recently preprints, Compendex content is sourced from thousands of publishers from around the world, including major engineering societies such as IEEE, ASME, SAE and ACM
KnovelThis link opens in a new windowKnovel helps students save time, incorporate technical information into their work and expand their knowledge. With the same engineering resources and tools as professionals in the field, students are better prepared for a technology-driven and competitive job market.
Single platform, many providers: Full-text content from over 160 sources including the National Institute of Standards & Technology (NIST), Wiley, Springer, Elsevier, PMI, ASM, and many more on a single platform
Unique training environment: Interdisciplinary breadth combined with an intuitive user interface helps students enhance information literacy and creative problem-solving
Early exposure to industry: Build applied engineering and research skills with interactive tables and graphs, trusted sources, technical references and industry best practices
By providing full-text reference handbooks, manuals, conference proceedings, case studies, engineering newsfeeds, and material properties databases, Knovel delivers trusted, accessible and relevant answers and insights to accelerate foundational engineering knowledge, build expertise in various subjects, and prepare for a career in Engineering.
Nature.comThis link opens in a new windowA collection of journals including "Nature"—the leading international weekly journal of science first published in 1869—as well as selective subject-specific subscription journals including "Nature Genetics" and "Nature Physics" and broad open-access journals such as "Nature Communications and Scientific Reports,"
SpringerLinkThis link opens in a new windowOne of the world's leading interactive databases for high-quality STM journals, book series, books, reference works and the Online Archives Collection.
ScienceDirectThis link opens in a new windowFull text of hundreds of scientific, technical, and medical journals published by Elsevier, Academic Press, and selected additional publishers from 1995 to present, and enables searching of abstracts of articles from more than 3,000 journals.
For a more complete list of journals, try BrowZine. It enables you to create a personal library to stay up-to-date on the latest publications from more than 100,000 journals.
Medical Letter [The]This link opens in a new windowA nonprofit organization that publishes critical appraisals of new prescription drugs and comparative reviews of drugs for common diseases.
