LibGuides: Tolkien: Research Tolkien

picture

J.R.R. Tolkien (1892-1973)

Print Reference Works

The Complete Tolkien Companion by J. E. A. Tyler
Call Number: PR6039 O32 Z459 2004 AX
Publication Date: 2004
A Companion to J. R. R. Tolkien by Stuart D. Lee (Editor)
Publication Date: 2014
Ebook. Click title to read.

Find Books

Click on a link below to see all books under that subject in the online catalog.

Tolkien, J.R.R. (All Books By)
Tolkien, J.R.R. (All Books About)
Tolkien, J.R.R. - Biography
Tolkien, J.R.R. - Criticism & interpretation
Click here for criticism of more than one of Tolkien's works.
Tolkien, J.R.R. - Film adaptations
Tolkien, J.R.R. - Influence
Tolkien, J.R.R. - Knowledge of history / literature / mythology
Tolkien, J.R.R. - Lord of the Rings
Click here for criticism of just the LOTR
Tolkien, J.R.R. - Religion
Tolkien, J.R.R. - Silmarillion
Click here for criticism of just the Silmarillion.
Dragons in literature
Fantasy fiction, English - History and criticism
Fantasy fiction, English - Medieval influences
Middle Earth (Imaginary place)
Monsters in literature

Find Dissertations

To access electronic resources you will need to enter your Multipass information when prompted.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) Global This link opens in a new window The official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and as the database of record for graduate research -- includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download. More than 70,000 new full-text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year through dissertations publishing partnerships with 700 leading academic institutions worldwide, and collaborative retrospective digitization of dissertations.

Find Articles

To access electronic resources you will need to enter your Multipass information when prompted.

Learn how to tell if full text is available.

Atla Religion This link opens in a new window The premier index for journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion, with coverage from 1949 and retrospective indexing for several journal issues as far back as the nineteenth century. Journals are selected for inclusion according to their scholarly merit and scope.
Communication & Mass Media Complete (CMMC) This link opens in a new window Provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline.
Literature Online (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window A fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 200 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.
Literature Resource Center (LRC) This link opens in a new window Up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window Offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, coverage dates back to the 1920s and contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers.
ProQuest One Literature This link opens in a new window For literature scholars who need an exhaustive set of scholarly resources around a literary topic for research and course planning. 500,000 primary works and millions of records from journals, monographs, and dissertations.

Tolkien: Research Tolkien

picture

Print Reference Works

Find Books

Find Dissertations

Find Articles

Selected Websites

Related Research Guides