Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Finding Dissertations

A Gumberg Library research guide

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global

Always Start Here!

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text. Of the over 3 million dissertations indexed in this product, about one-third can be accessed in their entirety.

The full text of selected Duquesne dissertations is available in ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global as far back as 1967.

Click the image above to enter the database.

If you are searching off-campus, you will need to enter your Multipass username and password when you click the image.

Search Tip 2

Search Tip 1

To get a manageable, relevant search result from this database, make sure that you use the Advanced Search interface. This will permit you to have more control of your search. To get to the Advanced Search, on the Basic Search screen, click on the "Advanced Search" link.

Once on the Advanced Search page, enter your search in the first search box, but do not click Search yet. Before running your search, make sure to change the menu to the right of the first search box from "Anywhere" to "Anywhere except full text - NOFT." This will ensure that your search words are searched in the most important places in the database records, but not in the full text of dissertations. 

Search tips

Search Tip 2

To see the abstract for a dissertation, click the "Abstract/Details" link. To see a 24-page preview, click the "Preview - PDF" link. If full text is available you will see a "Full text - PDF" link. Click it to see the full text.

ask gumberg

Need Help?