LibGuides: Modern Languages and Literatures: Spanish

Browsing?

Want to browse the stacks on the second floor for Spanish language and literature materials?

Try these call number ranges:

19th Century Latin America Sourcebook
A historical overview of 19th century Latin America.
Colonial Latin America Sourcebook
A historical overview of colonial Latin America.
Fascism in Europe Sourcebook
A historical overview of Facism in Europe.
20th Century Latin America
A historical overview of 20th century Latin America.

BBC Languages: Spanish
Spanish Blog
Great blog maintained by Transparent Language, a leader in language software. It has a staff of several writers and uses lessons, videos and even cultural anecdotes to help you learn grammar, vocabulary, pronunciation and more.
Coffee Break Spanish
Excellent Spanish Podcast aimed primarily at beginning and early intermediate learners.
Spanish in Spain
Online language resources highlighting Spanish in Spain.
Spanish Lessons on YouTube
A variety YouTube videos on Spanish language instruction.
Destinos
This Spanish language learning site at Annenberg Media's Learner.org, offers language learning videos online. Destinos teaches speaking, listening, and comprehension skills in Spanish. This telenovela, or Spanish soap opera, immerses students in everyday situations with native speakers and introduces the cultures, accents, and dialects of Mexico, Spain, Argentina, and Puerto Rico.

Radio, Television, and Newspapers

South American and Central American newspapers: A collection of Latin American newspapers online.

CNN Espanol: Up-to-date news and global information in Spanish.
BBC Mundo: BBC news in Spanish.
Latin American Studies Journals: The following resources are useful for locating journals, or journal articles, in Latin American Studies.

Scientific Electronic Library Online : Access to fulltext articles from scholarly journals from Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Mexico and other Latin American countries.

Video Collections

Latin American and Spanish Videos Freely Available on the Internet: guide brings together a selection of more than 100 unique web resources that provide access to freely available videos, representing the Latin American and Spanish video production on the Internet.

Gumberg Library: The library has a collection of foreign language films. You can search the library catalog using the guided search feature in order to limit by language Spanish and material type DVD.

Department of Modern Languages and Literature: Students can check out foreign films from the Film Library in the Language Lab at no cost. Films are available in DVD and VHS format.

Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh: The Main Library in Oakland as well as some of the branch libraries have an extensive foreign film collections that can be checked out.

University of Pittsburgh Foreign Language film Collection: A pdf of Spanish Language films held at Hillman Library, Music and Law libraries, Greensburg, Bradford, Johnstown, and Titusville libraries, plus the Center for Latin American Studies.

Looking for bilingual books so that you can practice your reading skills?

Try a search in Google using this search phrase:

Bilingual OR dual language books

You can also throw in a language. For example:

Bilingual OR dual language books Spanish AND English

Online Dictionaries
Spanish-English Dictionary APP for Iphone and Itouch
Wordreference.com: Spanish
Spanishdict.com
Real Academia española
Web of Dictionaries: Spanish

For synonyms and antonyms
El Mundo Dictionaries

Verb Conjugation
Verbix -- Spanish Verb Conjugator
Spanish Verb Conjugations
Wordreference Verb Conjugator

Print Dictionaries
To find a monolingual Spanish dictionary or Spanish/English dictionary, search the Online Catalog using the keywords Spanish Language Dictionaries (Tips For Searching the Online Catalog).

LANIC
Latin American Network Information Center: An online portal to resources focusing on Latin America.
Don Quijote: Spanish Literature
Don Quijote offers Spanish language schools in various countries. In this section of its website, you can read about the history of Spanish literature in Spanish. They also have an extensive Spanish literature library.