LibGuides: Modern Languages and Literatures: Japanese

Browsing?

Want to browse the stacks on the second floor for Japanese language and literature materials?

Try these call number ranges:

North American Coordinating Council on Japanese Library Resources
Japanese Research and Bibliographic Methods is an information literacy course that introduces students to the processes of locating, assessing, and using information resources in the context of Japanese studies.
Asia Since 1900
A historical overview of Asia since the 1900s
Internet East Asian History Sourcebook
A great resource for historic information on East Asian countries

BBC Languages: Japanese
Japanese Lessons on YouTube
A variety of Japanese language instruction videos.
Japanese podcast lessons
Weekly Japanese lessons from the Japan Broadcasting Corporation, NHK

Radio, Television, and Newspapers

Highlighting Japan: The online magazine is published once a month by the Japanese Government to help readers better understand Japan today.

Nipponia: A quarterly Web magazine that introduces modern Japan to people all over the world.

TV Japan: The official website for TV JAPAN, the only Japanese broadcasting channel in North America airing 24/7.

Video Collections

Gumberg Library: The library has a collection of foreign language films. You can search the library catalog using the guided search feature in order to limit by language Japanese and material type DVD.

Department of Modern Languages and Literatures: Students can check out foreign films from the Film Library in the Language Lab at no cost. Films are available in DVD and VHS format.

Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh: The Main Library in Oakland as well as some of the branch libraries have an extensive foreign film collections that can be checked out.

Looking for bilingual books so that you can practice your reading skills?

Try a search in Google using this search phrase:

Bilingual OR dual language books

You can also throw in a language. For example:

Bilingual OR dual language books Japanese AND English

Random House Japanese-English English-Japanese Dictionary
Call Number: PL679 .N294 1995
ISBN: 0679441492
Publication Date: 1995-08-01

Online Dictionaries
Goo Online Dictionary
Denshi Jisho

Verb Conjugators
Verbix: Japanese Language

JAIRO: Japanese Institutional Repositories Online
Meta search engine for institutional repositories. As of 10/05/2010 Number of Organizations is 160, Number of records is 1,013,109.
Country Studies: Japan
A reference overview of Japan
Blue Sky Library (Aozora Bunko)
A Japanese digital library that encompasses several thousands of works of Japanese-language fiction and non-fiction. These include out-of-copyright books or works that the authors wish to make freely available.
Japan Information Network
Provides information about Japanese culture and society. Maintained by the Japanese Center for Inter-cultural Communications.
Japanese Literature in Translation Search
This database covers Japanese literary works translated into other languages, mostly after WWII.