Databases by Subject: Health Sciences

Database of American Chemical Society journals and archives.

Find primary research literature and identify the principal contributions in more than 45 scientific disciplines. Publications are among the highest cited publications by impact factor according to the Journal Citation Reports® published by Thomson Reuters.

An indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education -- unique in its focus on the practical problems of society and also in that it covers both sociology and psychology.

Full text of more than 150 books from Lippincott Williams & Wilkins and the Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research.

Concise, easy-to-understand information relating to standard treatments for a variety of diseases and conditions. CareNotes cover general information on the nature of the disease/condition, possible causes, signs and symptoms, and standard means of care and support. CareNotes information also helps meet JCAHO and OBRA '90 patient education guidelines.

Indexing for more than 3,000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, this database contains more than 2.9 million records dating back to 1981, as well as complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses’ Association: health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters.

A collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.

This ebook presents organic synthesis in terms of the introduction and interconversion of all known functional groups and documents all methods of efficiently performing a particular transformation.

Searchable collection of full text ebooks in the forensic sciences and related disciplines.

Full text of Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, 20th Edition. Includes illustrations as well as expanded features such as additional references, links to MEDLINE abstracts, and unique online content. Updated daily.

Provides ready access to information on measurement instruments (questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science. Please note that HaPI does not include the actual research instruments. See the Mental Measurements Yearbook (Buros) for additional references to research instruments, tests, and assessments.

Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals, including nearly 450 peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals.

A bi-monthly, scientific and professional journal emphasizing quality pharmaceutical compounding.

A collection of full text health sciences journals.

Select Medical View when you login. Contains full text drug information resources and other health care information.

A nonprofit organization that publishes critical appraisals of new prescription drugs and comparative reviews of drugs for common diseases.

Access to MEDLINE using OVID platform.

Ovid MEDLINEÆ In-Process & Other Non-Indexed Citations (PREM), the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) in-process database for Ovid MEDLINEÆ, provides basic information and abstracts before a record is indexed with MeSHÆ heading(s) and added to Ovid MEDLINE.

Produced by the Buros Center for Testing at the University of Nebraska, MMY provides users with a comprehensive guide to thousands of contemporary testing instruments. Coverage: Volume 1 to current.

A wide range of clinical databases, including unbiased, referenced information about drugs, toxicology, diseases, acute care, and alternative medicine.

Collection of databases that provide information about research and issues related to people with disabilities. Provides a gateway to: NARIC Knowledgebase, NIDRR Compendium, NIDRR Program Directory, and REHABDATA. Also includes search results for commonly requested research topics.

A collection of journals including "Nature"—the leading international weekly journal of science first published in 1869—as well as selective subject-specific subscription journals including "Nature Genetics" and "Nature Physics" and broad open-access journals such as "Nature Communications and Scientific Reports,"

The National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) website provides a comprehensive search tool to access a vast repository of biomedical and genomic information. Through its search interface, users can explore scientific databases, including PubMed, nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, genome data, and more. NCBI’s platform is essential for researchers, healthcare professionals, and students looking for reliable scientific literature and data related to biology, medicine, and genetic research. The site facilitates the discovery of peer-reviewed articles, clinical studies, and molecular biology resources.

This occupational therapy journal literature search service is the only internet-based indexing and abstracting service that contains over 8000 abstracts from over 20 national and international occupational therapy journals dated from 1970 to the present.

Provides full text electronic access to over 100 health-related and life sciences journals. Full text articles are linked seamlessly to databases including MEDLINE, MEDLINE Extra, OLDMEDLINE, CINAHL, Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI), EBM Reviews, HealthSTAR, and Journals@Ovid.

Comprised of data from the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) MEDLINE and former HealthSTAR databases, containing citations to the published literature on health services, technology, administration, and research. It focuses on both the clinical and non-clinical aspects of health care delivery.

Abstracts featuring a wide variety of content, ranging from physical education curricula, to sports medicine, to dance. Other coverage includes sport law, kinesiology, motor learning, recreation, standardized fitness tests, sports equipment, business and marketing, coaching and training, and sport sociology/psychology.

A companion database to CINAHL, Pre-CINAHL is intended to provide current awareness of new journal articles, and includes a rotating file of limited bibliographic information (no subject searching), which are available to searchers only for the time when these articles are being assigned additional indexing. This enables users to gain access to article citations that otherwise would not be available. Once the bibliographic records are complete, they are added to the CINAHL database and removed from Pre-CINAHL.

Find complete, full-text information from leading publications covering all aspects of health administration, including public health and safety, hospitals, finance, personnel management, insurance, population studies, labor relations and law.

Enables you to connect directly to Gumberg Library holdings via PubMed. PubMed provides access to bibliographic information that includes MEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, as well as the out-of-scope citations from certain MEDLINE journals; citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing; and some additional life science journals that submit full text to PubMedCentral and receive a qualitative review by NLM.

The U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature. It is a small subset of PubMed. If you are starting your research, you should start with PubMed@Duquesne.

Full text of hundreds of scientific, technical, and medical journals published by Elsevier, Academic Press, and selected additional publishers from 1995 to present, and enables searching of abstracts of articles from more than 3,000 journals.

Login with your personal username and password to search SciFinder. First Time Users must register before logging in: First time users

The largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. indexes content from 24,600 active titles and 5,000 publishers which is rigorously vetted and selected by an independent review board, and uses a rich underlying metadata architecture to connect people, published ideas and institutions.

The world's most comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for more than 550 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus. Coverage dating back to 1985.

Login with your UpToDate username and password. First Time Users must register before logging in. See the UpToDate Guide for more information.

Multidisciplinary collections of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.