LibGuides: Physician Assistant (PA): Web Resources

The following are several online resources available providing clinical and drug information resources.

The following resources provide searchable interfaces for pharmaceutical interventions.

DailyMed The DailyMed database contains 143821 labeling submitted to the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) by companies. DailyMed does not contain a complete listing of labeling for FDA-regulated products (e.g., labeling that is not submitted to the FDA).
Drug Information Portal - National Library of Medicine The NLM Drug Information Portal gives users a gateway to selected drug information from the U.S. National Library of Medicine and other key U.S. Government agencies.
Drug Information Resources Library Guide

UpToDate Lexidrug This link opens in a new window Select Medical View when you login. Contains full text drug information resources and other health care information.

The Medical Letter The Medical Letter, Inc. is a nonprofit organization that publishes critical appraisals of new prescription drugs and comparative reviews of drugs for common diseases in its newsletter, The Medical Letter on Drugs and Therapeutics.
Meyler's Side Effects of Drugs Building on the success of the 14 previous editions, this remarkable reference has been extensively reorganized and expanded and now comprises almost 1,500 individual drug articles providing the most complete coverage of adverse reactions and interactions found anywhere. Each article contains detailed and authoritative information about the adverse effects of each drug, with comprehensive references to the primary literature making this a must have for any academic or medical library, pharmacologist, regulatory organization, hospital dispensary or pharmaceutical company.
Meyler's Side Effects of Herbal Medicines Meyler's Side Effects of Herbal Medicines, named to Doody's Core Titles for 2013, is a derivatrive work based on the acclaimed Meyler's Side Effect of Drugs, Fifteenth Edition. This book summarizes the adverse effects of a large range of herbal medicines and the active ingredients that they contain. It includes extensive lists of the families of plants that are used as herbal medicines, including the Latin names of genera and species as well as the common names of individual plants.

Micromedex Healthcare Series This link opens in a new window A wide range of clinical databases, including unbiased, referenced information about drugs, toxicology, diseases, acute care, and alternative medicine.

PubChem PubChem is an open chemistry database at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). “Open” means that you can put your scientific data in PubChem and that others may use it. Since the launch in 2004, PubChem has become a key chemical information resource for scientists, students, and the general public. Each month our website and programmatic services provide data to several million users worldwide. PubChem mostly contains small molecules, but also larger molecules such as nucleotides, carbohydrates, lipids, peptides, and chemically-modified macromolecules. We collect information on chemical structures, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety, toxicity data, and many others.

The following resources provide information for those in a clinical setting.

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window A collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.

ECRI Guidelines Trust This link opens in a new window This interactive guideline portal puts current, evidence-based clinical practice guideline summaries directly into the hands of clinicians, researchers, medical librarians, and patients. Created by the same team that developed and maintained the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality's National Guideline Clearinghouse™ for more than 20 years.
Isabel This link opens in a new window Isabel is a differential diagnosis generator designed to aid clinicians’ decision-making, covering more than 10,000 conditions and links to other clinical databases. For mobile access: (1) Login to Isabel (through this page) using your desktop or laptop computer (2) Click "Mobile Access (3) Note the Isabel UserID and Password (4) From your mobile device, go the Gumberg Research databases and login using your MultiPass credentials (5) Click Login (6) Enter your Isabel UserID and Password PLEASE NOTE: the mobile version will not allow you to view cases shared by professors.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window Login with your UpToDate username and password. First Time Users must register before logging in. See the