Articles, Databases, & Journals
Health Science Databases
-
AccessPharmacy
This link opens in a new window
Provides access to pharmacy textbooks, videos, games, cases, Q&A, NAPLEX review, and other resources that support pharmacy students as well as practicing pharmacists.
-
Embase
This link opens in a new window
Covers the most important international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day and all articles are indexed in depth using Elsevier's Life Science thesaurus Embase Indexing and Emtree®.
-
PubChem
This link opens in a new window
Provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. It is organized as three linked databases: PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay.
-
PubMed @ Duquesne
This link opens in a new window
Enables you to connect directly to Gumberg Library holdings via PubMed. PubMed provides access to bibliographic information that includes MEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, as well as the out-of-scope citations from certain MEDLINE journals; citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing; and some additional life science journals that submit full text to PubMedCentral and receive a qualitative review by NLM.
-
SciFinder
This link opens in a new window
Login with your personal username and password to search SciFinder. First Time Users must register before logging in: First time users
-
Scopus
This link opens in a new window
The largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. indexes content from 24,600 active titles and 5,000 publishers which is rigorously vetted and selected by an independent review board, and uses a rich underlying metadata architecture to connect people, published ideas and institutions.
Business Databases
-
ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest)
This link opens in a new window
Search nearly 1800 worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more.
-
Business Source Premier
This link opens in a new window
The industry's most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Updated daily.
Biomedical Engineering Databases
-
Compendex - Engineering Village
This link opens in a new window
Comprised of journals, conference proceedings, dissertations, standards, books, and recently preprints, Compendex content is sourced from thousands of publishers from around the world, including major engineering societies such as IEEE, ASME, SAE and ACM
-
Engineering Database
This link opens in a new window
The Engineering Collection contains engineering-related full-text articles and a comprehensive index to world literature on technological and engineering innovations going back to 1966.
-
Knovel
This link opens in a new window
Knovel helps students save time, incorporate technical information into their work and expand their knowledge. With the same engineering resources and tools as professionals in the field, students are better prepared for a technology-driven and competitive job market.
Single platform, many providers: Full-text content from over 160 sources including the National Institute of Standards & Technology (NIST), Wiley, Springer, Elsevier, PMI, ASM, and many more on a single platform
Unique training environment: Interdisciplinary breadth combined with an intuitive user interface helps students enhance information literacy and creative problem-solving
Early exposure to industry: Build applied engineering and research skills with interactive tables and graphs, trusted sources, technical references and industry best practices
By providing full-text reference handbooks, manuals, conference proceedings, case studies, engineering newsfeeds, and material properties databases, Knovel delivers trusted, accessible and relevant answers and insights to accelerate foundational engineering knowledge, build expertise in various subjects, and prepare for a career in Engineering.
Other Databases
Journals
-
ACS Web Editions & ACS Journal Archives
This link opens in a new window
Database of American Chemical Society journals and archives.
-
Browzine
This link opens in a new window
Browse scholarly journals available from Gumberg Library on your tablet, iPhone, Android smartphone or via a web version. Create your own bookshelf to follow your favorite titles and get notifications when new issues are published; access articles still in press; amd save articles for offline reading. You can also export references to citation managers such as RefWorks, EndNote, and Zotero. Not all Gumberg journals are available in Browzine -- check with the library if you have any questions.
-
International Journal of Pharmaceutical Compounding
This link opens in a new window
A bi-monthly, scientific and professional journal emphasizing quality pharmaceutical compounding.
-
Nature.com
This link opens in a new window
A collection of journals including "Nature"—the leading international weekly journal of science first published in 1869—as well as selective subject-specific subscription journals including "Nature Genetics" and "Nature Physics" and broad open-access journals such as "Nature Communications and Scientific Reports,"
-
ScienceDirect
This link opens in a new window
Full text of hundreds of scientific, technical, and medical journals published by Elsevier, Academic Press, and selected additional publishers from 1995 to present, and enables searching of abstracts of articles from more than 3,000 journals.
-
SpringerLink
This link opens in a new window
One of the world's leading interactive databases for high-quality STM journals, book series, books, reference works and the Online Archives Collection.
