LibGuides: Human Trafficking: Research

Databases

Because of the interdisciplinary nature of human trafficking more than one database may be needed to locate relevant resources. Below are suggestions of databases available through Gumberg Library:

Academic Search Elite (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary databases offers full text for more than 2,000 journals, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher provides in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
PAIS Index chronicles issues in the public debate through journal articles, books, government documents, research reports, conference papers, and more.
Social Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This database includes over 535 journals from the disciplines of sociology, political science, communication, education, criminology, economics, and more.
PubMed @ Duquesne This link opens in a new window
PubMed @ Duquesne provides access to medical and health sciences bibliographic information through MEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, and some additional life science journals.

Most of these databases require current Duquesne University credentials. If you are not affiliated with Duquesne University, find a library near you and ask about access to research databases.

Choosing A Topic

Forming and answering questions is a great way to determine a topic, narrow your search, and produce better results. This can come in the form of Who, What, When, Where, or How background questions. Below are a few examples related to human trafficking:

What industries are commonly associated with human trafficking?
Where is human trafficking most prevalent?
When are people most vulnerable to human traffic trafficking?
How does human trafficking affect economics and trade?

Human Trafficking In The News

Stay up to date with human trafficking stories with Google News