LibGuides: English and Theater Arts Resources: Welcome!

Title box

To access any electronic resource, you will need to enter your Multipass information when prompted

Research Guides

Reference Works

Individual reference works, print and electronic, can be found by searching the DUQSearch online catalog

Literature Resource Center (LRC) This link opens in a new window
Up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
ProQuest One Literature This link opens in a new window
For literature scholars who need an exhaustive set of scholarly resources around a literary topic for research and course planning. 500,000 primary works and millions of records from journals, monographs, and dissertations.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Each Handbook offers thorough introductions to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship, creating an original conception of the field and setting the agenda for new research. Handbook articles review the key issues and cutting-edge debates, as well as providing arguments for how those debates might evolve.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Includes electronic editions of a wide range of Oxford's award-winning scholarly encyclopedias and reference titles.
Very Short Introductions (Oxford University Press) This link opens in a new window
Concise introductions to a diverse range of subject areas. Duquesne has subscriptions to the following modules: "VSI Art & Humanities", "VSI Social Science", "VSI Medicine & Health", "VSI Science & Mathematics" and "VSI Law"

Theater Arts Resources: Reference Works

Find Books

How to Use the DUQSearch Online Catalog to Find Print and Ebooks in Any Discipline

Find Articles: Subject-Specific Databases for English Literature, Writing, & Theater Arts

Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL)
An indispensable reference work for English studies, with more than 960,000 records from 1892 to the present, with regular monthly updates of newly indexed material. Widely regarded as one of the most important bibliographical sources for English studies.
ERIC - Educational Resources Information Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, this database provides extensive access to educational-related literature, including journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.
Literature Online (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 200 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.
Literature Resource Center (LRC) This link opens in a new window
Up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, coverage dates back to the 1920s and contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers.
ProQuest One Literature This link opens in a new window
For literature scholars who need an exhaustive set of scholarly resources around a literary topic for research and course planning. 500,000 primary works and millions of records from journals, monographs, and dissertations.
World Shakespeare Bibliography This link opens in a new window
A searchable electronic database consisting of the most comprehensive record of Shakespeare-related scholarship and theatrical productions published or produced worldwide from 1960 to the present.

Find Articles: General Databases Covering English Literature, Writing, & Theater Arts

Academic Search Elite (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Offers full text for more than 2,000 serials, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. This multi-disciplinary database covers virtually every area of academic study. More than 100 journals have PDF images back to 1985.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Broadly search for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, pre-print repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A reliable and comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature, including searchable and browsable tables of contents and full text articles from both multidisciplinary and discipline-specific journal collections.
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
An archive with backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences that provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of titles. The database spans more than two centuries of content, 37 key subject areas, and multiple languages.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Provides 100% full-text access to over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
The largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. indexes content from 24,600 active titles and 5,000 publishers which is rigorously vetted and selected by an independent review board, and uses a rich underlying metadata architecture to connect people, published ideas and institutions.

Other Specialized Databases

Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new window
Harnessing the power of technology and the passion of like-minded people, live performance is brought into every classroom and library, accompanied by a range of invaluable educational resources for illustration, explanation, and critical reflection.
Literary Theory This link opens in a new window
Over 1,000 works, including formal treatises on criticism, essays and manifestos, literary prefaces, theories of imagination, taste and aesthetics, and major examples of contemporary theory, by more than 350 writers trace the history of literary theory and criticism from Plato to Judith Butler.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) This link opens in a new window
The accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past.

Primary Sources

Dissertations

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) Global This link opens in a new window

research process

Arts & Humanities Research Process

Check to see if there is a research guide on your topic. These will quickly connect you to all the most important resources on your topic. To see the research guides supporting English and Theater Arts, look in the main box to the left

If there is no research guide, then follow these steps:

1. Start with Reference Works to get background information and basic facts, also to see your broad topic broken into subtopics, one of which you might choose to use in narrowing your topic.

2. Search DUQSearch for books. Books are time-saving devises that gather, summarize, and synthesize the contents of hundreds of other books and articles and present this content conveniently for your use. Use the table of content and index to get to the specific information you need.

3. Use databases, general and subject-specific, to find articles, which will supplement the information from the books, providing you with the more recent information from researchers and journalists.

need help ted

Need Help?

Ted Bergfelt, MLS

Humanities Librarian

Liaison to the Department of English & Theater Arts

Phone: 412-396-5351

Email: bergfeltt@duq.edu

If he is not available, Ask Gumberg

English and Theater Arts Resources: Welcome!