LibGuides: Medicine @ Duq : Books/eBooks

Books/eBooks

Gumberg Library has many eBooks and print books related to medicine. Searching DUQSearch with keywords will return results for eBooks, print books, journal articles, newspaper articles, and more.

Medical eBook Collections

AccessAnethesiology This link opens in a new window
AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window Provides a variety of resources needed to excel in basic science studies and clerkships; instant access to videos, self-assessment, and leading medical textbooks with optimized content for any mobile device.
AccessMedicine Case Files Collection This link opens in a new window Cases in Case Files Collection provides materials for short, targeted case-based learning. They vary slightly, but for each case you get a patient history and systems review, short answer questions, clinical pearls, and references. Cases are durable URL-enabled and can be embedded into a course LMS page. The results of the quizzes can be emailed and collected for a grade, e.g. student to instructor. Cases in Case Files Collection are organized into categories and based off different resources, including: Basic Science Cases Clinical Rotation Cases Post-Graduate Cases NOTE: Accessing the AccessMedicine Case Files Collection requires you to sign in using MyAccess.
AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new window Provides access to pharmacy textbooks, videos, games, cases, Q&A, NAPLEX review, and other resources that support pharmacy students as well as practicing pharmacists.
Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy This link opens in a new window This is an online set of 330 fully narrated, 3D-rotational gross anatomy videos organized by region (Upper Extremity, Lower Extremity, The Trunk, Head & Neck, Internal Organs). Created by Dr. Robert D. Acland (University of Louisville School of Medicine), the site helps to facilitate understanding or review of human anatomy. Recent enhancements such as self-assessment based on the Practical Exam and the addition of Inner Ear videos further support teaching and learning for faculty, students, practitioners, and patients.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window Elsevier’s ClinicalKey gives you access to quick answers at the point of care alongside trusted, comprehensive medical evidence. It includes clinical overviews, full-text books and journals, drug information, procedure videos, clinical calculators, patient education handouts, practice guidelines, clinical trials, and MEDLINE® citations and abstracts. Physicians can earn and claim CME.
ClinicalKey Student This link opens in a new window ClinicalKey Student enables deeper insights into student performance, personalized feedback and improved student engagement. A multi-purpose learning environment for both faculty and students, where users can assess, study and review in a single platform.
JAMAEvidence - McGraw-Hill This link opens in a new window JAMAevidence is an online medical resource helping decision-makers to identify the best available evidence. It provides students, residents, fellows, and clinicians with essential content from Users' Guides to the Medical Literature: A Manual for Evidence-Based Clinical Practice, 3e, The Rational Clinical Examination: Evidence-Based Clinical Diagnosis, and Care at the Close of Life: Evidence and Experience.
LWW Health Library: Board Review Series This link opens in a new window The LWW Health Library Board Review Series covers material in the primary basic sciences—such as gross anatomy, embryology, neuroscience, and more—that are addressed on the USMLE Step 1 exam. Textbooks and self-assessments are geared specifically to test prep success.
LWW Health Library: Clerkship/Clinical Rotations This link opens in a new window LWW Health Library: Clerkship/Clinical Rotations offers a comprehensive content collection targeting each of the core clinical rotations, from Internal Medicine to OB/GYN. Ideal for seeing principles in action with patients and prepping for board exams.
LWW Health Sciences: Medical Education This link opens in a new window This resource includes the LWW Health Library: Premium Basic Sciences Collection & the LWW Health Library: Osteopathic Medicine Collection, as well as combining the Integrated Basic Sciences collection, the Lippincott Illustrated Review book series, the gold-standard Bates’ Guide to Physical Examination & History Taking, and more.
PsychiatryOnline This link opens in a new window A powerful web-based portal that features DSM-V, the most widely used psychiatric reference in the world and The American Journal of Psychiatry as the cornerstones of an unsurpassed collection of psychiatric references from American Psychiatric Publishing, Inc., the most trusted and respected name in psychiatric publishing.

DUQSearch Tutorial

See the video below to learn more about using DUQSearch to find books and eBooks.

Learn more in our Finding eBooks library guide.

See our list of eBook collections for more information.

You can also check out our Health Sciences eBooks guide.

Find something we don't have at Gumberg?

Learn more about interlibrary loan options below.

EZBorrow Useful for finding books not available in print at Duquesne.
ILLiad Useful for finding articles not available in print or electronically in full text at Duquesne.

Have any Recommendations?

Would you like to suggest a book, ebook, dvd, or other item to purchase? Send us your recommendation!

Suggest A Purchase