Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Gumberg Library Quick Links
Additional eBook Collections and Guides
Explore these guides for more in-depth eBook resources available within different discipline fields.
Drug Information Resources
Full text drug information books, articles, and reference guides
Health Sciences eBooks
Health sciences electronic book collections and reference books
Healthcare Ethics Reference eBooks
Healthcare ethics electronic reference books
Full text eBooks from a variety of genres, such as African American Poetry, Early American Fiction, and Twentieth Century Drama
Literature Reference eBooks
Literature electronic reference books (dictionaries, companions, encyclopedias, etc)
Mobile Health Sciences Resources
Several mobile resources contain full text books or articles, such as Facts and Comparisons and Cochrane Summaries
Philosophy Reference eBooks
Philosophy electronic reference books (dictionaries, companions, encyclopedias, etc)
The Spiritans Electronic Texts
The Spiritans digital collection
Theology Reference eBooks
Theology electronic reference books (dictionaries, companions, encyclopedias, etc)
Downloading books enables you to use them when you are working offline. This page is an overview of how to download an entire book (or document). Please remember that some collections will NOT allow you to download their eBooks.
Many eReaders allow you to transfer a PDF file onto the reader. Also, creating an Adobe Digital Editions account allows you to download books from many public libraries or other sources. There are also Apps that allow users to read eBooks.
Please contact a librarian with any specific questions for downloading eBooks.
Listed below are guides and instructions for downloading eBooks from specific collections.
Directions for downloading ebrary eBooks to an iPad or Android device.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
Directions for downloading EBSCOhost eBooks to an iPad or Android device.
Checking out eBooks makes them unavailable to others. Please refrain from checking out eBooks for longer than needed.
Many eReaders can use PDF files. This is similar to moving a file from your computer onto a flash drive. Here are some basic instructions to download a PDF and transfer it to your eReader
- Find an eBook that is a PDF.
- Save the PDF file to your computer.
- Plug your eReader into your computer using it's USB cord.
- Select the PDF file of the book within your computer files and drag it onto your eReader.
- Disconnect the eReader and start reading.
Adobe Digital Editions
Besides Kindle, many eReaders can use Adobe Digital Editions to access eBooks. Also, many public libraries use Adobe Digital Editions to check out their eBooks.
Here are directions to install Adobe Digital Editions on your PC or MAC:
- Go to http://www.adobe.com/products/digitaleditions/
- Follow the instructions for installation and activation
- In order to use the software, you need to create a free Adobe Account
- Once installed, Adobe Digital Editions will allow you to download books to your PC or Mac
Some eReader devices, such as Android and iPad/iPhone/iTouch, can use apps to access eBooks. Listed below are some available apps.
- Aldiko- eBook reader for Android devices
- Bluefire Reader- Using your Adobe Digital Editions account information, you can read eBooks through this app
- Google Books app- Download books from Google Books
- Kindle app- This app will allow you to buy eBooks through Amazon and read them on your device