LibGuides: Biomedical Engineering : Articles, Journals &amp; Databases

Articles, Journals, & Databases

Below is the link to our full list of databases, as well as some key databases that may be helpful for you to consider.

Databases A-Z

Databases

ACS Web Editions & ACS Journal Archives This link opens in a new window Database of American Chemical Society journals and archives.
arXiv This link opens in a new window An archive and distribution server for electronic pre-prints approved for posting after moderation, but not full peer review. Open access to 1,500,749 e-prints in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics.

bioRxiv A preprint archive for biology papers.

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window A collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
Embase This link opens in a new window Covers the most important international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day and all articles are indexed in depth using Elsevier's Life Science thesaurus Embase Indexing and Emtree®.

engrXiv A preprint archive for engineering papers. Preprints are papers that have not yet gone through peer review.
GenBank The NIH genetic sequence database.

JoVE This link opens in a new window A peer reviewed, PubMed-indexed journal devoted to the publication of biological, medical, chemical, and physical scientific experiments in a video format.

medRxiv A preprint archive for health sciences papers
ProQuest Science Database Subject coverage includes computers, engineering, physics, telecommunication, and transportation

PubMed @ Duquesne This link opens in a new window Enables you to connect directly to Gumberg Library holdings via PubMed. PubMed provides access to bibliographic information that includes MEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, as well as the out-of-scope citations from certain MEDLINE journals; citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing; and some additional life science journals that submit full text to PubMedCentral and receive a qualitative review by NLM.

PubMed @ Duquesne Tutorial Video This video explains how to access PubMed @ Duquesne, how to conduct a search, use filters, and find full text.

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Full text of hundreds of scientific, technical, and medical journals published by Elsevier, Academic Press, and selected additional publishers from 1995 to present, and enables searching of abstracts of articles from more than 3,000 journals.
SciFinder This link opens in a new window Login with your personal username and password to search SciFinder. First Time Users must register before logging in: First time users
Scopus This link opens in a new window The largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. indexes content from 24,600 active titles and 5,000 publishers which is rigorously vetted and selected by an independent review board, and uses a rich underlying metadata architecture to connect people, published ideas and institutions.
SPIE Digital Library and eBooks This link opens in a new window Collection of optics and photonics research from conference proceedings, and peer-review journals.

Journals

Duquesne affiliates have access to several journals relevant to biomedical engineering. See browsable and searchable lists of journals at the links below.

Full Text Options

This guide explains some of the most frequently used ways to find full text at Duquesne.

Finding Full Text Guide

This tool will pop up in many databases and web pages and help you find full text. It takes less than one minute to setup.

See our LibKey Nomad guide for more information and help with setup.

Borrow From Other Libraries

There are ways of getting access to materials not available at Duquesne by contacting and borrowing from other libraries.

When Gumberg doesn’t have an article, you can order it for free electronic delivery using ILLiad.

See our ILLiad Guide for more information.