Image: Theater at Epidauros, Greece. Composite photo by Morn for the English Wikipedia Project. source: Wikimedia Commons
On this page we have brought together print and electronic resources of many types, dealing with the general topic of Greek and Roman theater, both comedy and tragedy. It will also link the user to critical materials on major classical playwrights and their plays. Use the tabs running across the top of the page to access the various types of information available.
Related Research Guides
Comedy Mask. Scala Theatre Museum. Photo by ChristianChirita. Used under a Creatice Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 license. Source: Wikimedia Commons
Primary Source Databases
E-Reference Works
These books may be accessed off-campus, but when you click on a title, you will need to enter you Multipass information to do so.
Oxford Classical Dictionary, 3rd edition revised by 
Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance by 
Age of Fable: Stories of Gods and Heroes by 
Hutchinson Dictionary of Ancient & Medieval Warfare by E-Reference Databases
Gumberg Library subscribes to a number of databases of electronic reference works. These cover all subject areas, and in some cases, contain hundreds of specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries and other sorts of reference works.
Print Reference Works
Cambridge Companion to Greek and Roman Theatre by 
Cambridge Companion to Greek Tragedy by 
Oxford Companion to Classical Literature, 2nd edition by 
Warfare in the Classical World: An Illustrated Encyclopedia of Weapons, Warriors, and Warfare in the Ancient Civilisations of Greece and Rome by 
