PEDro (Physiotherapy Evidence Database)

General Tips on Searching in PEDro 

• Use the database's search help if your run into issues. 
• This database uses the asterisk * as a "wildcard" that allows for the return of variants on a word.
  • If you want to find research relating to teenagers, for example, using teen* lets you search for terms like teens, teenagers, teenager etc. at the same time. You add * to the word teen as a substitute for all of those other endings.
  • For more guidance on this concept, called truncation, view our guidance here.  

Advanced Search 

• Use Advanced search as your starting point. It can help you find articles about specific subjects using drop-down menus. You can also use it to look up specific publications
• For best results, PEDro database recommends searching a maximum of three boxes. 

How to Perform an Advanced Search in PEDro 

For specific instruction on how to conduct an Advanced Search in this database view this video. 

Simple Search

The Simple Search option at PEDro provides a single text field as seen below.

How to Perform a Simple Search in PEDro 

For specific instruction on how to conduct a simple search in this database view this video. 

Consumer Search

• Uses less technical language to find results.
• Allows users to answer questions or select body parts and then provides records.
• The user can select to only show records with a "consumer summary", a brief description of the research findings that is helpful both to  quickly understanding the results of the research or to share with a patient.