LibGuides: ESL Resources for Teachers: Note-taking

Find Resources at Gumberg Library

"Note Taking" by kizzzbeth is licensed under a CC 2.0 Attribution

Relevant Databases

Find eBooks & Articles

ERIC
Many full-text education literature and resources.

ProQuest Education Journals
745 top educational publications, many in full text.

Teacher Reference Center
Journals and books on education literature and resources.

EBSCO eBook Collection
Digital full-text reference works, scholarly books, and more.

eBrary
Over 70,000 full-text electronic books.

Note-taking

Cornell Method for Note-taking

The Cornell Method for Note-taking is very efficient way to organize information from class.

Make any notebook ready to take notes this way by:

making a column on the side for main ideas or topics
making an area at the bottom for a summary of your notes (do this after class when you study).

Also, practice using abbreviations as you take notes.

Books in Gumberg Library: Note-taking

Helpful Searches:

Note-taking.

Note Taking Made Easy! by Deana Hippie
Publication Date: 2010
Capture students' interest and motivate them to practice and master basic facts using the popular puzzle sudoku. The puzzle's self-checking format lets students know when they've aced their addition and subtraction facts. Includes practice for fact families 1-10 as well as mixed facts review.
Interactive Notebooks and English Language Learners by Marcia J. Carter et al
Publication Date: 2009
Interactive Notebooks are student-created, teacher-directed and are effective with all students. It is a place to record learning and develop proficiency with academic English. The Interactive Notebook works so well with English learners because it scaffolds content and gives students the space to develop school-based ways of thinking - to go from ELLs to academic language learners.
Ready! Set! Research! by Marvin Terban
Publication Date: 2007
A fast, easy, and fun look at everything students need to know when writing a research paper: how to choose a topic, complete the research, and compose the report. This new user-friendly guide is the simple answer to some not-so-easy questions. With big, helpful headings, humorous illustrations, and bold graphics, this fun and fast guide offers a logical, step-by-step approach to finding it, writing it, and getting it done!
Practicing college study skills : strategies for success by Carolyn H. Hopper
Publication Date: 1998
The Study Skills Handbook by Jay Amberg
Publication Date: 1993
Educational resource for teachers, parents and students!