LibGuides: ESL Resources for Teachers: Getting Started

Getting Started

Use the tabs across the top of the page to move through the resource guide.

This guide is organized by skill area to help you find resources at the Gumberg Library and online.

Please check out the ESL Resources for Students Guide to see which resources have been recommended to students.

Feel free to contact the library to recommend or change resources in either of these guides.

Relevant Databases

Find eBooks & Articles

ERIC
Many full-text education literature and resources.

ProQuest Education Journals
745 top educational publications, many in full text.

Teacher Reference Center
Journals and books on education literature and resources.

EBSCO eBook Collection
Digital full-text reference works, scholarly books, and more.

eBrary
Over 70,000 full-text electronic books.

Professional Associations

Network & Professional Development

IES English Language Learners
National Council of Teachers of English: College Section
TESOL International Association
Center for Advanced Research on Language Acquisition
International Association of Teachers of English as a Foreign Language
Center for Applied Linguistics
International Literacy Association
Teaching materials, journal articles, professional communities & forums, awards & grants, etc.
American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages

More Classroom Materials

Get More Resources @ CLP

The public library has more books, music, films, magazines, audiobooks, e-books, e-magazines, and ESL kits to use in class.

Welcome, Teachers!

ESL Resources for Teachers

Image courtesy of Renae Breemes is licensed under a CC 2.0 Attribution.

When searching in the library catalog, in databases, or online, you will find materials under several search terms, including:

English as a Second Language (ESL)
English Language Learners (ELL)
English for Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL)
English as a Foreign Language (EFL)
Teachers of English to Speakers of Other Languages (TESOL)
English Language Teaching (ELT)

Social Media for Teachers: Guides, Resources, and Ideas by Matt Davis (2013)

Twitter hashtags: #esl #teachingenglish #highered #collegechat #grammar #tesol #efl #ell #toefl #tefl #englishlanguage #englishwriting #studyenglish #eltchat

Books in Gumberg Library: ESL Instruction

Helpful Searches:

English language -- Study and teaching -- Foreign speakers.

Language and Languages -- Study and teaching

English language -- Acquisition.

Second language acquisition.

Interference (Linguistics)

"Cambridge Handbooks for Language Teachers"

How the ELL Brain Learns by David A. Sousa
Publication Date: 2010
Combines current research on how the brain learns language with strategies for teaching ELLs. Author and brain research expert David A. Sousa describes the linguistic reorganization needed to acquire another language after the age of 5. Also includes: A self-assessment pretest for gauging your understanding of how the brain learns languages, Brain-compatible strategies for teaching English learners across content areas, A chapter about how to detect English language learning problems.
Best Practices in ELL Instruction by Guofang Li; Patricia A. Edwards
Publication Date: 2010
In this indispensable work, prominent authorities review the latest research on all aspects of ELL instruction (K-12) and identify what works for real students and schools.
Six Principles for Teaching English Language Learners in All Classrooms by Cheng-Ting Chen et al
Publication Date: 2008
With examples, checklists, and more, this instructional model helps educators address language development in a regular classroom while supporting ELLs in learning academic content.
Fifty Strategies for Teaching English Language Learners by Adrienne L. Herrell; Michael Jordan
Publication Date: 2007
This book provides 50 strategies to help ELL pupils understand content materials while perfecting their speaking, reading, writing, and listening. Each strategy is given a definition, rationale, and step-by-step implementation instructions; and, all are tied to ELL & TESOL standards. NEW! Developmental Profile of English Language Development. Learn to enhance learning through integrated technology suggestions. Unique videos on DVD illustrate classroom use of select strategies. Classroom discussion starters.
Strategies for Teaching English Learners by Lynne Diaz-Rico
Publication Date: 2007
This book has been touted as the best overview of basic principles and strategies for English language teaching. It includes an introduction to the fascination and challenges of teaching English learners and offers a comprehensive overview of learning theories and teaching strategies.Current and future K-12 teachers.

Books in Gumberg Library: ESL Activities

Helpful Searches:

English language -- Textbooks for foreign speakers.

English language -- Study and teaching -- Activities.

Teaching -- Aids and devices.

Language and languages -- Study and teaching -- Problems, exercises, etc.

English language -- Examinations, questions, etc.

99 MORE Ideas and Activities for Teaching English Learners with the SIOP Model by MaryEllen Vogt; Jana Echevarria; Marilyn Amy Washam
Publication Date: 2014
Offering brand new, classroom-ready activities, this indispensable resource revisits SIOP® and shows how to use it each day in the classroom. Whether searching for activities that build vocabulary, keep students highly engaged, or make content concepts clear, these teacher-tested strategies adhere to SIOP® principles and reinforce best practice.
The ESL/ELL Teacher's Book of Lists by Jacqueline E. Kress
Publication Date: 2008
This unique teacher time-saver includes scores of helpful, practical lists that may be reproduced for classroom use or referred to in the development of instructional materials. The material helps K-12 teachers reinforce and enhance the learning of grammar, vocabulary, pronunciation, and writing skills in ESL students of all ability levels. An updated glossary provides an indispensable guide to the specialized language of ESL instruction.
Wow! Stories from Real Life by Natalie Hess; Laurel Pollard
Publication Date: 2008
Multi-skills text unfolds heart-warming true stories and an abundance of exercises skillfully designed to give your low beginners all the practice they need. Each believe-it-or-not story taps into students' own experiences, hopes, fears, and dreams via a unique and flexible array of exercises. This book offers terrific teaching routines that require little or no preparation time from the teacher.
Finish Line for ELLs: English Proficiency Practice by Continental Press Staff
Publication Date: 2009
Finish Line for ELLs provides friendly, effective exercises that familiarize ELL students with similar items found on English language proficiency assessments and individual state tests based on the TESOL Standards. It improves language proficiency of five content areas across the listening, reading, writing, and speaking domains.
Activities, Games, and Assessment Strategies for the Foreign Language Classroom by Amy Buttner
Publication Date: 2007
This book provides easy-to-use resources to help you write fun lesson plans. With over 100 activities and games, this book also includes rubrics, spreadsheets, materials lists, and templates.
Out and About by Amy Hemmert; Rick Kappra
Publication Date: 2005
Games, crossword puzzles, class mingles, flashcards, fluency circles, end-of-unit progress checks, and more. This book has reproducible, ready-to-use material! Activities cover introductions, classroom items, dates/days of the week, jobs, families, household chores, shopping, dealing with money, getting around town, making appointments, the weather/seasons, transportation, and more. Includes a section of teaching suggestions and answers where applicable.
Recipes for Tired Teachers by Chris Sion (Editor)
Publication Date: 2004
81 classroom-proven activities that are the ideal ingredients to building and reinforcing language skills at any level. Includes: Role simulations, Group dynamics activities, Personality analysis, Graphic experiences, creative crossword creations, and Riddle scrambles. Each activity is brief and self-contained. Language points include: Asking and answering questions, Comparing information, Expressing opinions, Describing feelings, Making suggestions, Discussing problems, Note-taking, and Giving instructions.

Need Help? Ask us!

Email, text, telephone or meet with a Reference Librarian.

Online ESL Teacher Resources

Using English: Teacher Resources
Handouts, quizzes, lesson plans, articles, English reference, and teacher forum.
American English: Teaching
Many resources: stories, teacher forum, games, webinars, conferences, etc.
Web English Teacher: Professional Resources
Many resources: bulletin board ideas, workshops, lesson plans, assessment, etc. Also, use left side navigation for specific topics.
British Council: Teaching English
Lesson plans, webinars, continuing professional development, blog, and online course.
One Stop English
News lessons, lesson plans, activities, games, etc.
English Grammar Blog
Lessons, exercises, activities, and videos. Use left side navigation of topics, too.
English Club: Teach English
Worksheets, handouts, activities, lesson plans, teacher forum, articles, tips, etc.
Dave's ESL Cafe
Tips, ideas, training, forums, etc.
Purdue OWL: ESL Instructors
ESL Teacher links, scholarship, associations, writing lab tutorials, etc.
Internet TESL Journal: ESL Links
Articles on many ESL topics.
ESL Gold
Use navigation bar to find teacher resources.
About.com: ESL
Activities, handouts, tips, etc.
Voice of America News
Stories with video and audio.
John's ESL Community
Language skills, quizzes, games, riddles, holidays, activity creators, handouts, activities, dialogs, etc.
ESL Flow
Many topics and activities.
Open Education Resources Commons
Search for ESL, EFL, etc. to find lesson plans, activities, games, and much more.

Breaking News English

Spark Interest with Current Events

Find news articles written for ESL students of different levels:

News in Levels

MORE Current Events